State(s) / Location(s) Involved

California, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Vermont, Wisconsin

Start / Enrollment Date




The Social Security Administration (SSA) and the Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA) funded a combined total of eighteen demonstration States from 1998-2004. SSA provided five-year funding to twelve States (see locations above) to develop innovative projects to assist individuals with disabilities in their efforts to reenter the workforce. These awards helped States develop State-wide programs of services and support for their residents with disabilities that increased job opportunities for them and decreased their dependence on benefits, including SSDI and SSI. California, Vermont, New York and Wisconsin implemented SSI waivers to test alternative rules.

Detailed Description

View the Detailed Description of the Demonstration online.
Print out a Detailed Factsheet.


The SPI projects ended September 2004.