Social Security in America's Huture

Final Report of the National Commission on Social Security, March, 1981

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON SOCIAL SECURITY

Milton Gwirtzman, Chairman Attorney and author Newton, Massachusetts

James J. Dillman, vice-chairman
Attorney, Dillman, Holbrook, Wurtz &
Roth
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Trustee, State of Wisconsin
Retirement Fund & Member,
Retirement Research Committee

, Elizabeth T. Duskin, vice-chairman Director of Research and Legislation, National Council of Senior Citizens Washington, D. C.

Wilbur J. Cohen, Austin, Texas
Sid Richardson Professor of Public Affairs, Lyndon Baines
Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas at Austin;
Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare, 1968-69

Russell W. Laxson, Plymouth, Minnesota Retired Vice-President, Public Affairs, Honeywell Inc.

Donald S. MacNaughton, Nashville, Tennessee
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital Corporation of
America
former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Prudential Insurance
Company of America

Joyce D. Miller, Gutenberg, New Jersey Vice-President and Director of Social Services, Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America; member of the Executive Council, AFL-CIO

Robert J. Myers, Silver Spring, Maryland Professor of Insurance, Howard University Chief Actuary, Social Security Administration, 1947-70

David H. Rodgers, Olympia, Washington Chief Deputy Insurance Commissioner, State of Washington Mayor of Spokane, Washington from 1967 to 1978

STAFF OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON SOCIAL SECURITY

Frank Crowley Executive Director

Research Staff Administrative Staff

Martha Proskauer Laura Kreuzer

Senior Analyst Administrative Officer

Virginia Reno Melanie McClintock

Senior Analyst Public Information Officer

Annette Coates Marian Flynn

Program Analyst Counsel

Bill Endicott Donna Pickett

Program Analyst Administrative Assistant

Colleen Jozefczyk Ercell Campbell

Program Analyst Secretary

Clarita Mrena Thelma Hiland

Program Analyst Secretary

Dan AdamsJean MooreResearch AssistantSecretary

Kathy Brueger Doris Washington

Research Assistant Secretary

Linda Jefferson Research Assistant

Randy TeWinkle Research Assistant

John Chlunsky

Social Security Administration Liaison