Social Security U.S.A.-- The Program & Its Administration


graphic of family  


THE Social Security Administration is composed of the Office of the Commissioner and 11 components. Ten of these administer the social insurance program; the eleventh, the Bureau of Federal Credit Unions, administers the Federal credit union program-a program designed to promote thrift by encouraging cooperative, systematic saving and to make credit available in the short-term, small loan field at reasonable rates of interest.

The Commissioner of Social Security serves as Secretary of the Board of Trustees of the social security trust funds and as chairman of the Advisory Council on Social Security Financing. By law, an advisory council is appointed by the Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare every few years to review the financing of the program and report its findings and recommendations to the Congress.

organizational chart