Florida

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

No recipients.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Children and Families.

Effective date: January 1, 1974.

Statutory basis for payment: Florida Statutes, chapter 409.212.

Funding *Administration:* State funds. *Assistance:* State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

Place of application: Local offices of the state Department of Children and Families.

Scope of coverage: Under the community care programs, an optional state supplement is provided to all aged, blind, or disabled persons who either receive SSI

payments or have been grandfathered because they meet all SSI criteria except for income. Income may not exceed \$701.40.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.

Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: Amount of public assistance received after August 31, 1967, creates a debt against the estate of the aged, blind, or disabled recipient, and the state can file a claim after death. Homestead is exempt during the life of a spouse or dependent children if occupied as a homestead. Claims are filed against the estate of individuals who received Medicaid on or after their 55th birthday.

Financial responsibility of relatives: None.

Interim assistance: State participates.

Payment calculation method: The recipient's gross monthly countable income is subtracted from the sum of the standard provider rate and the personal needs allowance. The difference, up to \$78.40, is the state optional payment amount.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Total expenditures: The state reported expenditures of \$8,040,131 for calendar year 2006 in state-administered payments to SSI recipients.

Table 1.

Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2007 (in dollars)

	Combined federal and state		State supplementation	
Living arrangement	Individual	Couple	Individual	Couple
Community care programs				
Adult family care home ^a	701.40	b	78.40	b
Assisted living facility	701.40	b	78.40	b
Medicaid facility ^c	35.00	70.00	5.00	10.00

SOURCES: Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; state information.

a. Payments include \$54 personal needs allowance. Recipients who lose SSI eligibility because of Social Security (Title II) benefit increases may continue to be eligible for state supplementation if they reside in a specific living arrangement and have income below income limits.

b. Couples are treated as two individuals the month after leaving an independent living arrangement.

c. Community providers enrolled to provide assistive care services can receive an additional payment from Medicaid recipients residing in their facilities.

DEFINITIONS:

Adult family care home. Serves up to five persons aged 18 or older, providing housing, food, and personal services.

Assisted living facility. Serves four or more persons aged 18 or older, providing housing, food, and personal services.

Medicaid facility. Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

Table 2.Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2007

Living arrangement	Total	Aged	Blind	Disabled
All recipients	13,769	5,793	5	7,971
Community care programs	057	90	0	069
Adult family care home Assisted living facility	357 8,331	89 3,342	0 2	268 4,987
Medicaid facility	5,081	2,362	3	2,716

SOURCE: State information.

NOTE: Includes certain grandfathered, non-SSI recipients who meet state eligibility criteria.

State Assistance for Special Needs

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

Medically Needy Program

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this information.