Oregon

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

No recipients.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Human Services, Seniors, and People with Disabilities Division (state-administered in local offices).

Effective date: January 1, 1974.

Statutory basis for payment: Oregon Revised

Statutes 411.120.

Funding

Administration: State funds. Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining total expenditures.

Place of application: Local offices of the Department of Human Services and local offices of county and local government.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement provided to some SSI recipients. Blind children who receive SSI are eligible for state supplementation; disabled children under age 18 are ineligible.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI limitations used, except that the transfer of a home may render a person ineligible after 60 months from the date of application per the Deficit Reduction Act.

Income exclusions: Federal SSI earned and unearned income exclusions used.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: Assistance paid constitutes an unsecured prior claim against property or any interest therein belonging to the estate of a recipient except such portion as is being occupied as a home by the spouse, minor dependent child, or parent of deceased recipient. The Department of Human Services may compromise claim by accepting other security or may

waive payment when enforcement would be inequitable and would tend to defeat the purpose of public assistance law

Financial responsibility of relatives: None.

Interim assistance: State participates.

Payment calculation method: The state issues a standard supplement of \$1.70 to aged individuals, \$26.70 to blind individuals, and \$25.00 to blind couples living independently or in the household of another.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Total expenditures¹: The state reported expenditures of \$2,811,456 for calendar year 2008 in state-administered payments to SSI recipients.

State Assistance for Special Needs

Administration

State Department of Human Services, Seniors, and People with Disabilities.

Special Needs Circumstances

Community-based care: Eligible for payment for room and board during the month of admission at the initial placement. Room and board payments may be paid to the community-based facility during the temporary absence.

Special diet: An ongoing payment for a special diet will be allowed if need has been established by a physician and the recipient would be in an imminent lifethreatening situation without the diet.

Restaurant meals: Ongoing payments to recipients living in their own home who are unable to prepare their own meals.

Laundry allowances: Recipients are eligible for an ongoing laundry allowance if they have excessive costs for coin-operated laundry facilities.

1. Represents the preliminary count without resolutions of overpayments or returned checks.

Table 1.

Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2009 (in dollars)

	Combined federal and state		State supplementation	
Living arrangement	Individual	Couple	Individual	Couple
Living independently				
Aged and disabled	675.70		1.70	
Blind	700.70	1,036.00	26.70	25.00
Living in the household of another				
Aged and disabled	451.04		1.70	
Blind	476.04	699.00	26.70	25.00
Adult foster care or residential care facility a				
Aged and disabled	675.70	b	1.70	b
Blind	700.70	b	26.70	b

SOURCES: Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; state information.

NOTE: ... = not applicable.

- a. Additional costs are covered by special service funds. Persons with veterans aid and attendants income are allowed to keep \$90 as a personal needs allowance.
- b. The state no longer supplements couples in adult foster care, residential care, assisted living, or specialized living. These recipients are covered under a home and community waiver. The income standard is 300 percent of the SSI standard for a single recipient.

DEFINITIONS:

Living independently. Includes recipients living alone in their own household.

Living in the household of another. Includes recipients who live in the household of another.

Adult foster care facility. Includes recipients living in homes or other facilities that include board and room and 24-hour care and services for five or fewer elderly or disabled persons who are aged 18 or older.

Residential care facility. Includes recipients living in facilities of one or more buildings on contiguous property that provide 24-hour care and services to six or more people aged 16 or older.

Table 2.

Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2009

Living arrangement	Total	Aged	Blind ^a	Disabled
All recipients	28,105	3,375	578	24,152
Living independently or in the household of another				
Adult foster care or residential care facility				

SOURCE: State information.

NOTE: -- = not available.

a. Includes blind children.

Telephone allowances: Telephone allowances may be provided when the recipient is unable to leave their residence without assistance due to a documented medical condition.

Food for guide dogs and special assistive animals:

Payment for food will be made for trained guide dogs or special assistive animals.

Home repairs: The repairs must be needed to remove a physical hazard to the health and safety of the recipient.

Property taxes: Recipients who are homeowners or homebuyers are allowed a special need of one year of delinquent real property taxes, penalties, and interest if needed to prevent imminent foreclosure.

Moving costs: The Department will authorize payment for the cost of moving a recipient's household effects if moving is essential to provide nonhazardous housing, the recipient has been evicted for reasons other than his or her own neglect, or the move is a result of domestic violence

Accommodation allowance: A temporary accommodation allowance may be authorized when the recipient leaves his or her home or rental property and

enters a hospital, state psychiatric institution, nursing facility, or community-based care facility. Additionally, a recipient may receive an accommodation allowance if the recipient's shelter cost exceeds the shelter standard and the recipient has a documented increase in costs.

Medicaid

Eligibility

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI).

Determined by: State.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this information.