Oregon

Oregon

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

No recipients.

Optional State Supplementation
The state does not provide optional supplementation.

Interim assistance: State participates.

State Assistance for Special Needs

Administration

State Department of Human Services, Seniors, and
People with Disabilities.

Special Needs Circumstances

Community-based care: Eligible for payment for room
and board during the month of admission at the initial
placement. Room and board payments may be paid to the
community-based facility during the temporary absence.

Special diet: An ongoing payment for a special diet will
be allowed if need has been established by a physician
and the recipient would be in an imminent life-
threatening situation without the diet.

Restaurant meals: Ongoing payments to recipients living
in their own home who are unable to prepare their own meals.

Laundry allowances: Recipients are eligible for an
ongoing laundry allowance if they have excessive costs
for coin-operated laundry facilities.

Telephone allowances: Telephone allowances may be
provided when the recipient is unable to leave their
residence without assistance due to a documented
medical condition.

Food for guide dogs and special assistive animals:
Payment for food will be made for trained guide dogs or
special assistive animals.

Home repairs: The repairs must be needed to remove a
physical hazard to the health and safety of the recipient.

Property taxes: Recipients who are homeowners or
homebuyers are allowed a special need of one year of

delinquent real property taxes, penalties, and interest if
needed to prevent imminent foreclosure.

Moving costs: The Department will authorize payment
for the cost of moving a recipient’s household effects if
moving is essential to provide nonhazardous housing, the
recipient has been evicted for reasons other than his or her
own neglect, or the move is a result of domestic violence.

Accommodation allowance: A temporary
accommodation allowance may be authorized when the
recipient leaves his or her home or rental property and
enters a hospital, state psychiatric institution, nursing
facility, or community-based care facility. Additionally,
a recipient may receive an accommodation allowance if
the recipient’s shelter cost exceeds the shelter standard
and the recipient has a documented increase in costs.

Prescription co-pay coverage: An individual who pays
$10 or more per month for prescription co-pays may
qualify for this payment.

Transportation services: An individual who incurs a
cost for transportation services that are not covered by
another source (such as their medical insurance or
waived service plans) may qualify for this payment.
These payments are for transportation services to non-
medical activities. Transportation services do not include
purchase of vehicle, vehicle maintenance or repair,
reimbursement for travel expenses or mileage, or
transportation services that may be obtained through
other means. The maximum payment is $25 per month.

Spousal facility allowance: Spouses who each receive
SSI and services in a community-based care facility are
eligible for a payment that equals the difference between
the OSIPM standard for a one-person need group and the
individual’s total countable income. If one spouse has
income above the OSIPM standard, the excess income is
applied to the other spouse’s countable income.

Medicaid

Eligibility
Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI).

Determined by: State.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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