Missouri

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Social Services, Family Support Division.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Social Services,

Family Support Division.

Effective date: January 1, 1974.

Statutory basis for payment

Supplemental aid to the blind: Missouri Revised

Statutes, section 209.

All other supplementation: Missouri Revised Statutes,

section 208.030, subchapter 5.

Funding

Administration: State funds. Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

Place of application: State offices of the Family

Support Division.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement provided to any person who:

- Is aged, blind, or disabled and over age 18;
- Resides in a licensed residential care facility or a licensed intermediate care or skilled nursing home that is not a Medicaid facility; and
- Has insufficient cash income to cover costs of care in the facility.

Blind persons over age 18 living on their own are also provided with a supplement. Children under age 18 are not eligible for optional supplementation.

Resource limitations

Aged and disabled: \$999.99 individual; \$2,000 couple. Blind: \$2,000 individual; \$4,000 couple.

Income exclusions: There are no income exclusions for the aged or disabled unless they are employed at a sheltered workshop. Disregards for the blind include the first \$65 plus one-half of the remainder of earned income.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.

 $\textbf{Financial responsibility of relatives: } Spouse \ for$

spouse.

Interim assistance: State participates.

Payment calculation method: A standard applies that is established by the state for the total SSI payment. The federal SSI payment and any countable income are deducted from the state standard. The remainder is the state supplementation.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Total expenditures: Not available.

Table 1.

Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

	Combined federal and state		State supplementation	
Living arrangement	Individual	Couple	Individual	Couple
Licensed residential care facility, Level I Licensed residential care facility, Level II	830.00 966.00	1,323.00 1,595.00		312.00 584.00
Licensed intermediate care or skilled nursing home ^a	1,064.00	1,791.00	390.00	780.00
Aid to the blind	b	b	b	b

SOURCES: Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; estimates based on Federal Benefit Rate.

- a. Recipients in licensed nursing homes are entitled to an additional \$52 per month to meet their personal needs. If the recipient is already receiving a personal needs allowance from another state or federal agency, this payment will not be made by the Family Support Division.
- b. Recipients receive a maximum combined federal and state payment of \$510 for an individual and \$1,020 for a couple.

DEFINITIONS:

Licensed residential care facility, Level I. Residents must meet state income and resource guidelines. Care provided is similar to boarding home care.

Licensed residential care facility, Level II. Residents must meet state income and resource guidelines. Custodial-type care is provided.

Licensed intermediate care or skilled nursing home. Custodial care and medical care are provided.

Table 2.

Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Living arrangement	Total	Aged	Blind	Disabled
All recipients				
Licensed residential care facility, Level I				
Licensed residential care facility, Level II				
Licensed intermediate care or skilled nursing home				
Aid to the blind				

State Assistance for Special Needs

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility

Criteria: State guidelines.

Determined by: State.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this information.