Appendix IV:—Benefits for temporary total disability provided by workers' compensation statutes, January 1, 1996

	Percentage of worker's wages	Payments per week			
Jurisdiction		Minimum	Maximum	Percentage of State average weekly wage (SAWW)	Maximum period
Alabama	66-2/3	\$122-27-1/2% of SAWW of worker's average wage if less	\$443.00	100	Duration of disability
Alaska	80% of worker's spendable earnings	\$110 or \$154 if employee shows proof of wages, or worker's spendable weekly wage if less	¹ \$700.00		Duration of disability until date of medical stability
Arizona	66-2/3	Payable, but not statutorily prescribed	² \$323.10		Duration of disability
Arkansas	66-2/3	\$20	\$337.00	85	450 weeks
California	66-2/3	\$126	\$448.00		Duration of disability
Colorado	66-2/3		³ \$451.22	91	Duration of disability
Connecticut	75% of worker's spendable earnings	\$131.20—20% of SAWW, or an amount not to exceed 80% of worker's average wage if less	¹ \$656.00	100	Duration of disability
Delaware	66-2/3	\$119.07—22-2/9% of SAWW, or actual wage if less	\$357.19	66-2/3	Duration of disability
District of Columbia	66-2/3 or 80% of spendable earnings, whichever is less	\$180.84—25% of SAWW	\$723.34	100	Duration of disability
Florida	66-2/3	\$20 or actual wage if less	⁴ \$465.00	100	104 weeks
Georgia	66-2/3	\$25 or average wage if less	\$275.00		400 weeks⁵
Hawaii	66-2/3	\$124—25% of SAWW, or worker's average wage if less, but not less than \$38	\$496.00	100	Duration of disability
ldaho	67	\$186.75—45% of SAWW	\$373.50 for first 52 weeks; thereafter \$220.55	90	52 weeks, thereafter 67% of SAWW for duration of disability
llinois	66-2/3	\$100.90 to \$124.30, or worker's average wage if less, according to the number of dependents	\$760.51	133-1/3	Duration of disability
		•			

Appendix IV:—Benefits for temporary total disability provided by workers' compensation statutes, January 1, 1996—Continued

		Payments per week			
Jurisdiction	Percentage of worker's wages	Minimum	Maximum	Percentage of State average weekly wage (SAWW)	Maximum period
Iowa	80% of worker's spendable earnings	\$148—35% of SAWW, or actual wage if less	\$846.00	200	Duration of disability
Kansas	66-2/3	\$25	\$326.00	75	Duration of disability
Kentucky	66-2/3	\$83.19—20% of SAWW	⁷ \$415.94	100	Duration of disability
Louisiana	66-2/3	\$88—20% of SAWW, or actual wage if less	⁸ \$330.00	75	Duration of disability
Maine	80% of worker's after tax earnings		⁹ \$441.00	90	Duration of disability
Maryland	66-2/3	\$50 or actual wage if less	\$540.00	100	Duration of disability
Massachusetts	60	\$120.81—20% of SAWW, or worker's average wage if less	10 \$604.03	100	156 weeks
Michigan	80% of worker's spendable earnings		³ \$524.00	90	Duration of disability
Minnesota	66-2/3	\$104 or actual wage if less	\$615.60		104 weeks, or 90 days after maximum medical improvement ¹¹
Mississippi	66-2/3	\$25	\$264.55	66 2/3	450 weeks or \$119,047
Missouri	66-2/3	\$40	\$491.19	105	400 weeks
Montana	66-2/3	Payable, but not statutorily prescribed	¹ \$380.00	100	Duration of disability
Nebraska	66-2/3	\$49 or actual wage if less	\$409.00	100	Duration of disability
Nevada	66-2/3		\$473.69	100	Duration of disability
New Hampshire	60	\$146.10—30% of SAWW not to exceed employee's after tax earnings	\$730.50	150	Duration of disability
New Jersey	70	\$128—20% of SAWW	\$480.00	75	400 weeks
New Mexico	66-2/3	\$36 or actual wage if less	\$353.33	85	Duration of disability
New York	66-2/3	\$40 or actual wage if less	\$400.00		Duration of disability

Appendix IV:—Benefits for temporary total disability provided by workers' compensation statutes, January 1, 1996—*Continued*

Jurisdiction	Percentage of worker's wages	Payments per week			
		Minimum	Maximum	Percentage of State average weekly wage (SAWW)	Maximum period
New York	66-2/3	\$40 or actual wage if less	\$400.00		Duration of disability
North Carolina	66-2/3	\$30	\$492.00	110	Duration of disability
North Dakota	66-2/3	\$226—60% of SAWW, or employee's actual wage if less	¹² \$376.00	100	Duration of disability, or until claimant is age 65 and eligible for Social Security retirement benefits
Ohio	72% for first 12 weeks; thereafter 66-2/3	\$170.33—33-1/3% of SAWW or actual wage if less	¹³ \$511.00	100	Duration of disability
Oklahoma	70	\$30 or actual wage if less	\$307.00	75	300 weeks
Oregon	66-2/3	\$50 or 90% of actual wage if less	\$494.44	100	Duration of disability
Pennsylvania	66-2/3	\$292.78 or 90% of employee's average weekly wage if less	\$527.00	100	Duration of disability
Puerto Rico	66-2/3	\$20	\$65.00		312 weeks
Rhode Island	75% of workers spendable earnings		¹⁴ \$485.00	100	Duration of disability
South Carolina	66-2/3	\$75 or average wage if less	\$437.79	100	500 weeks
South Dakota	66-2/3	\$181—50% of SAWW, or worker's average wage if less	\$362.00	100	Duration of disability
Tennessee	66-2/3	\$68.40	\$415.87		400 weeks or \$166,348
Texas	70% of worker's earnings over \$8.50 per hour; 75% for all others	\$72—15% of SAWW	\$480.00	100	104 weeks, or upon reaching maximum medical improvement, whichever is sooner
Utah	66-2/3	\$45	¹⁵ \$429.00	100	312 weeks
Vermont	66-2/3	\$219—50% of SAWW or worker's average wage if less	\$655.00	150	Duration of disability
Virgin Islands See footnotes	66-2/3 at end of table.	\$60 or actual wage if less	\$287.00	66-2/3	Duration of disability

Appendix IV footnotes

¹ Workers' compensation benefits subject to Social Secur ity benefit offsets.

² Additional \$25 monthly added to benefits of dependents residing in the United States.

³ Workers' compensation benefits subject to Social Security benefit offsets and to reduction by benefits under an employer pension or disability plan.

⁴ Workers' compensation benefits subject to Social Security and unemployment insurance benefit offsets.

⁵ Maximum weekly benefit in catastrophic cases shall be paid until such time as employee undergoes a change in condition for the better.

⁶ Total amount payable is \$100,000. Workers' compensation benefits subject to unemployment insurance and Social Security benefit offsets.

⁷ Benefit payment frozen until 1997.

⁸ Workers' compensation benefits subject to unemployment insurance benefit offsets.

⁹ Workers' compensation benefits subject to unemployment insurance benefit offsets, except if benefits started prior to date of injury, or if benefits are a spouse's entitlement.

¹⁰ Additional \$6 will be added per dependent if weekly benefits are below \$150.

¹¹ Compensation stops if employee withdraws from labor market, is released to work without any physical restrictions, or refuses offer to work that is consistent with a rehabilitation plan.

¹² Additional \$10 per week for each dependent child, not to exceed worker's net wage. Benefits are reduced by 50% of Social Security disability benefits.

¹³ Workers' compensation benefits subject to Social Security benefit offsets and if concurrent and/or duplicate, with those under employer nonoccupational benefit plan.

¹⁴ Additional \$9 for each dependent, including a nonworking spouse; aggregate not to exceed 80% of worker's average weekly wage.

¹⁵ Additional \$5 for dependent spouse and each dependent child up to four under age 18, but not to exceed 100% of State's average weekly wage.

¹⁶ Additional \$10 will be paid for each dependent under age 21.

¹⁷ Minimum benefits may not exceed the level of benefits determined by use of the applicable Federal minimum hourly wage.

¹⁸ Federal Employee's Compensation Act.

¹⁹ Maximum weekly benefit is based on the pay of a specific grade level in the Federal civil service; benefits calculated are at 75% of worker's wage where there are one or more dependents.

²⁰ Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act.