
Trends in Unemployment hmwance 
. Coverage and Benefit Legislation 

In the Federal-State system of unemployment insurance, 
coverage, benefits, and disqualifications are determined by State 
law. No two State laws are identical in any of thesefields, and 
they are becoming increasingly divergent. This article sum- 
marizes the more significant changes made in the 1949 legisla- 
tures and the resulting statutory provisions. It illustrates the 
diversity of State laws in terms of the benefit rights, State by 
State, of five hypothetical claimants. 

ACH of the 46 State legislatures E in session in 1949 debated one or 
more employment security bills. 

In all, they considered more than 
1,000 separate bills to amend their 
unemployment insurance laws. In a 
few States all 1949 unemployment in- 
surance legislation failed, but almost 
200 such bills were enacted by 42 State 
legislatures. This article summa- 
rizes the more important amendments 
that affect the beneficiaries of the 
program. The amendments to expe- 
rience-rating provisions, which affect 
subject employers, have been sum- 
marized in a recent Bulletin article.’ 

Coverage 
Though there was very little 1949 

legislation on coverage, the trend was 
toward restricted rather than ex- 
tended coverage. 

Size-of-firm requirements.-T h e 
only change in size-of-firm provisions 
was in Oregon, which substituted four 
or more employees in 6 weeks in a cal- 
endar quarter for four or more at any 
time. 

There remain 21 States with size- 
of-firm coverage equal to that of the 
Federal act (eight or more employees 
in 20 weeks) and one that requires 
eight or more in 15 weeks. The other 
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Reference, Unemployment Insurance 
Service, Bureau of Employment Security, 
Department of Labor. 
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29 States cover employees in firms 
with one, three, four, or six workers; 
in 17 of these States coverage is “one 
or more.” ’ 

Employer-employee relationship.- 
Three States reduced coverage by 
stricter requirements in terms of em- 
ployer-employee relationship. Idaho 
and North Carolina limited coverage 
to employees under a master-servant 
relationship. Pennsylvania weakened 
the tests for determining the absence 
of control of an employer over a 
worker so that he would be classed as 
an independent contractor rather 
than an employee by deleting the re- 
quirement that the service must be 
outside the usual course of the busi- 
ness for which it is performed. 

Tape of employment.-Tennessee 
dropped mandatory coverage of non- 
profit employees, leaving only Hawaii 
with such a provision. Nevada ex- 
cluded services for a college fraternity 
or sorority; Arkansas excluded real 
estate agents; and Idaho, insurance 
agents. 

The trend was different in govern- 
ment employment. Texas added 
coverage of services performed for 
the State, its political subdivisions and 
instrumentalities. California added 
coverage of employees of public hous- 

*For details on coverage provisions 
State by State, see the Comparison of 
State Unem73lovment Insurance Laws, op. 
cit., chapte; I.- 

SThe other usual tests, retained in 
Pennsylvania, are that the worker is free 
from control of the performance of his 
work under his contract of service and 
in fact and that he is customarily en- 
gaged in an independent trade or busi- 
ness. 

by RUTH RETICKER * 

ing administration agencies whether 
operated by the State or local govern- 
mental units. Another California 
amendment permits election of serv- 
ices performed for the State and its 
political subdivisions and instrumen- 
talities, by employees other than those 
in civil service or permanent positions 
if a majority consent to coverage. 

Massachusetts included services on 
all American vessels with an operating 
office in the State, continuing the ex- 
clysion of services as a member of the 
crew of fishing vessels of 10 net tons 
or less. Utah also removed the exclu- 
sion of maritime services that are sub- 
ject to the Federal Unemployment Tax 
Act. l?orty-four States now have 
taken advantage of the opportunity, 
afforded when private maritime em- 
ployment was included under the Fed- 
eral act in 1946, for covering such em- 
ployment under their State laws. 
These States include all the States 
with maritime employment in coastal, 
Great Lake, or river service. 

Tennessee and Utah added to their 
deEnition of employment “services 
covered by the Federal UnemPloYment 
Tax Act,” bringing to 24 the States 
with a provision enabling them to 
cover employment now excluded from 
the Federal and State laws if the Fed- 
eral coverage is broadened. 

Benefits 
The recent upward trend in benefit 

amounts continued. The gap between 
benefits and wages and between bene- 
fits and cost of living had been widen- 
ing for some years. In 1949, 30 State 
legislatures took action to bridge 
those gaps. Nine States enacted 
amendments to increase their mini- 
mum weekly benefit amount, and 24 
States, to increase their maximum 
weekly benefits. Six increased weekly 
beneflts by adding dependents’ allow- 
ances, and two liberalized their de- 
pendents’ allowance provisions. Thir- 
teen States increased the maximum 
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potential weeks of benefits4 
In these amendments, the States 

made no fundamental changes in the 
benefit formula. No State changed 
the type of benefit formula; 41 States 
still use high-quarter formulas, eight 
have annual-wage formulas, and two, 
average-weekly-wage formulas. No 
State changed from uniform poten- 
tial duration to variable duration or 
vice versa; there remain 15 States with 
uniform potential duration. The 
changes are connected with benefit 
procedures or with the arithmetic of 
benefit computation. In changing 
from quarterly wage reporting to re- 
quest wage reporting, Utah changed 
from a uniform to an individual base 
period and benefit year, and Nebraska 
reduced the lag between the base Pe- 
riod and benefit year. Connecticut, 
however, restored the 1 to a-quarter 
lag which had been eliminated in 1947 
amendments. No State changed the 
length of the base period. Fifty 
States use a I-quarter period and 
Missouri, 8 quarters. 

The changes in arithmetic were 
mainly in minimum and maximum 
amounts. Only Iowa and Ohio in- 
creased the high-quarter fraction, lib- 
eralizing benefits at all wage levels. 
Iowa changed from a l/26 to l/20 
fraction. Ohio adopted a more liberal 
weighted schedule yielding l/17 to 
l/24 of high-quarter wages instead 
of l/20-1/28, and added dependents’ 
allowances as well. Arkansas adopted 
a weighted formula yielding l/20-1/26 
of high-quarter wages instead of l/24 
at all levels. Nevada decreased the 
high-quarter fraction while increas- 
ing dependents’ allowances. Revision 

‘Most but not, all of the 1949 amend- 
ments were effective by the end of the 
year. The last to go into effect will be the 
Illinois provisions for maximum weekly 
benefit, maximum potential benefits and 
qualifying wages, effective for the uniform 
benefit year beginning April 1950. In 15 
States (Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut,, 
Delaware, Iowa, Kansas. Minnesota, Ne- 
vada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsyl- 
vania, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia, 
Wyoming), certain amendments apply 
only to benefit years beginning after the 
effective dates (Mar. 5, 1949, to Jan. I, 
1950) and in Wisconsin to benefit determi- 
nations after May 22, 1949. The formulas 
summarized in tables 1, 4, and 5 will not 
apply to all weeks of unemployment until 
beneflt years in progress on the effective 
date have expired, which will not be un- 
til September 30, 1950, in Texas and De- 
cember 31, 1950, in Wyoming. 
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of the annual-wage formulas-mini- 
mum amounts, maximum amounts, 
maximum durat.ion, and qualifying 
wages-resulted generally in weekly 
benefits which are lower percentages 
of annual wages in Maine, Minnesota, 
North Carolina, Oregon, and Wash- 
ington. New Hampshire, however, 
liberalized its annual-wage formula at 
all levels. 

Minimum weekly benefits.-Only 10 
States changed their minimum weekly 
benefit amounts in the 1949 legisla- 
tive sessions. Nine increased such 
amounts by $1 to $5; and Maine, which 
had a minimum of $6.75 when all rates 
were raised 12% percent by regula- 
tion in 1948, eliminated the statutory 
authorization for increases by regu- 
lation while increasing the statutory 
maximum. The changes are sum- 
marized below. 

state 

Arkansas _____________... 
Colorado _____________._. 
Maine .___________._..._. 
Minnesota _____.___..____ 
Nebraska __.___..._._.._ 
North Carolina.. ._____ 
Ohio .________ ---- ______, 
O~~gOn~-~~--~---~-- __._ 
Texas~--------~-~~--~~~ 
Wisconsin~.---- _______ 

1948 Prior 
amendment provision 

With these changes, minimum basic 
weekly benefits vary from 50 cents in 
Missouri to $15 in Oregon (table 1). 
The median minimum benefit is now 
$7. Only four States, with 6 percent 
of the covered workers, have mini- 
mums under $5; in 12 States, with 12 
percent of the covered workers, the 
minimum rate is $5, once the most 
popular minimum; 11 States, with 17 
percent of covered workers, have a 
minimum of $6; eight, with 39 percent 
of covered workers, have $10; and 15, 
with 26 percent of the workers, have 
between $6 and $10. With maximum 
dependents’ allowances payable to 
claimants receiving the minimum 
basic benefit, augmented benefits in 11 
States vary from $7 to $15; in six of 
these States, from $11 to $15. 

Maximum weekly benefit.-Twenty- 
four States increased the basic maxi- 
mum weekly benefit amount by $2 to 
$9, and seven increased maximum 
weekly benefits by adding or increas- 

ing dependents’ allowances. Alto- 
gether, 28 States liberalized maximum 
weekly benefits, as indicated in table 2. 

With these amendments, only two 
States have maximum basic weekly 
benefits under $20 (Florida $15, and 
Georgia $18). In 17 States the maxi- 
mum weekly benefit amount is $20 
(table 1) ; in seven States, $22 to $24; 
in 22 States, $25; in two States, $26; 
and in Kansas, where the maximum 
is one-half the average wage in cov- 
ered employment, $27. The median 
State has a $24 maximum. However. 
less than 3 percent of all covered 
workers are in States with maximums 
less than $20, and 79 Percent are in 
States with basic maximums of more 
than $20-49 percent in States with 
$25 maximums and 16 percent in 
States with maximums of more than 
$25. 

In the District of Columbia, maxi- 
mum weekly benefits are $20 with or 
without dependents’ allowances. In 
the other 10 States with dependents’ 
allowances, maximum weekly bene- 
fits are increased from a range of $20 
to $25 to a range of $26 to $40 and in 
Massachusetts to a practically un- 
limited amount (up to the amount of 
the individual’s average weekly 
wage). 

Duration of benefits.-Only three 
States changed their formula for com- 
puting duration of benefits. Arkan- 
sas simplified its formula by elimi- 
nating the allowance of four times the 
weekly benefit for each base-period 
quarter in which wages were at least 
% of high-quarter wages; it retains 
the % of base-period wage credits 
and not more than 16 times the week- 
ly benefit amount. Ohio substituted 
a fraction of base-period wages for 
its schedule in terms of weeks of em- 
ployment (18 weeks of benefits for 20 
weeks of employment; 19 weeks, for 
21-24 weeks of employment; and 22 
weeks, for more than 24 weeks of em- 
ployment) . Its allowance of benefits 
equal to zh of base-period wages (up 
to 26 weeks) is the most liberal frac- 
tion in any of the States (table 4). 
Wisconsin increased its allowance of 
weeks of benefits per week of employ- 
ment from 3/ to */. The doubling 
of the Washington minimum qualify- 
ing amount resulted in a considerable 
reduction in the percentage of base- 
period wages available as benefits. By 
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removing the joint limitation on du- 
ration for unemployment insurance 
and disability insurance (11/2 times 
the maximum duration for either risk 
separ$cely) the California Legislature 
increased potential duration of unem- 
ployment benefits for some claimants 
who draw benefits under both pro- 
grams in a benefit year. 

Thirteen States increased the max- 
imum weeks of benefits for total un- 
employment payable under the State 
law, and Massachusetts increased the 
weeks payable to claimants with de- 
pendents, as detailed later. The 
changes in the 13 States are sum- 
marized below. 

state 
Maximum weeks of 

benefits 

1949 Prior 
amendment provision 

Connecticut ___-___-_--. 
D&XVare. ___---....._ -. 
Minnesota ._.___ -_---_--. 
Montana ---.---....._ -. 
Nebraska ______ -_------. 
Nevatia~.~--~----------. 
North Carolina . . . - ._.. 

Ohio -_-_-_____-__-_.... 
Oklahoma .._._ ~. _ _ ~...~ 
O~~g~~~~~--~-----------. 
Texas . . . . . .._..__..._-_ 
West Virginia . . . . . -. 
Wisconsin.~~.......~.... 

With these changes, maximum po- 
tential duration varies from 12 to 26% 
weeks of benefits for total unemploy- 
ment in the various laws (table 41. 
In 15 States, with one-fourth of the 
covered workers, potential duration of 
12 to 26 weeks is uniform for all eli- 
gible claimants (table 5). In the 
other 36 States, maximum potential 
duration depends on base-period 
wages in excess of the amount neces- 
sary to qualify for minimum bene- 
fits. The maximums vary from 16 
to 26% weeks of benefits for total 
unemployment. The largest number 
of States, and the median State, have 
20 weeks. 

Only eight States, however, with 7 
percent of the covered workers, have 
a maximum duration of less than 20 
weeks, and the 21 States with a maxi- 
mum of 20 weeks have only 17 per- 
cent of covered workers. Nine States, 
wit,h 28 percent of covered workers, 
have a maximum of 21-25 weeks; and 
13 States, with 48 percent of covered 
workers, have maximums of 26 or 
26 ?/z weeks. 

Table 6, giving the number of States 
by maximum number of weeks of 
benefits and maximum weekly benefit 
amounts, shows the general tendency 
of the State formulas to be liberal in 
both respects if liberal in one. 

In most States, claimants at all 
benefit levels may be eligible for maxi- 
mum weeks of benefits. However, in 
11 States the maximum weeks are at- 
tainable only by claimants in the 
higher benefit brackets; in 10 of these, 
only by claimants eligible for the 
maximum weekly benefit. This list 
includes three States with annual- 
wage formulas (Minnesota, Oregon, 
and Washington); three with 
weighted schedules (Illinois, Rhode 
Island, and Utah) ; and five with ‘/4 or 
% duration fractions (Connecticut, 
Delaware, Maryland, Texas, and Wy- 
oming) . In the latter two groups, 
only claimants who have base-period 
wages aggregating more than four 
times the minimum high-quarter 
wages required for the maximum 
weekly benefit can receive the maxi- 
mum weeks of benefits. 

Mam’mum potential benefits in a 
benefit year.-The increases in maxi- 
mum weekly benefit and/or maxi- 
mum weeks of benefits and the addi- 
tion or increase of dependents’ allow- 
ances resulted in increases in maxi- 
mum annual benefits in 29 States, as 
shown in table 7. 

Maximum basic benefits now vary 
from $240 in Arizona and Florida to 
$689 in Wisconsin; they are $500 in 
the median State (table 4). Only 
eight States, with 7 percent of the 
covered population, provide less than 
$400 ; 16 States, with 22 percent of the 
covered population, are in the $400- 
500 bracket; 12 States, with 16 percent 
of the covered population, are in the 
$500-$600 bracket; and 15 States, with 
55 percent of the covered population, 
afford maximum annual benefits of 
$600-700 (chart). Maximum aug- 
mented benefits vary from $312 in 
Arizona to $936 in Connecticut, and 
more in Massachusetts (table 8). 

Qualifying wages.-All the States 
that increased the minimum weekly 
benefit amount increased minimum 
qualifying wages, usually by increas- 
ing the flat qualifying amount’ or by 

K Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, 
Oregon, Texas. 

applying the qualifying multiple of the 
weekly benefit (table 1) to the higher 
minimum amount.’ Ohio changed 
from 20 weeks of employment and 
base-period wages of at least $160 to 
14 weeks and $240. Wisconsin re- 
tained 14 weeks of employment but 
increased from $10 to $12 the average 
weekly wage required for minimum 
benefits. 

Illinois, Utah, and Washington also 
raised the minimum qualifying wages, 
from $225 to $300, $294 to $352, and 
$300 to $600, respectively; each in- 
creased slightly the maximum poten- 
tial benefits in a benefit year for the 
claimant who barely qualifies for 
benefits, without increasing the mini- 
mum weekly benefit amount. Utah 
changed the form of its requirement 
by substituting 19 weeks of employ- 
ment of 16 hours or 2 full working 
days for its requirement of 150 percent 
of high-quarter wages and increased 
its requirement in terms of average 
State wages from 14 to 16 percent. 
Maryland was the only State to reduce 
qualifying wages, changing the re- 
quirement to 30, instead of 40, times 
the weekly benefit amount. 

Generally, States that increased the 
maximum weekly benefit and/or 
maximum weeks of benefits increased 
the high-quarter and/or base-period 
wages required for the higher bene- 
fits. The qualifying wages for maxi- 
mum weekly benefits and maximum 
weeks of benefits (table 4) now vary 
more widely than the amount of the 
benefits. The variations are related 
more to the type of formula than to 
the amount of benefits. The eight 
annual-wage formulas require $1,755 
to $2,950 base-period wages (five of 
them requiring $2,500 or morel for 
maximum weekly benefits and maxi- 
mum duration. Of the States with 
high-quarter-wage formulas or aver- 
age-weekly-wage formulas and vari- 
able duration, eight ’ require wages in 
excess of $2,000 (table 4). Maryland 
is the only State to require qualifying 
wages in excess of the maximum tax- 
able wages; to obtain maximum 
weekly benefits, maximum depend- 
ents’ allowances, and maximum 
weeks of benefits for total unemploy- 

OArkansas and Colorado. 
* Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, 

Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, 
Wisconsin. 
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Table 1 .-Benefit provisions for total unemployment in State laws as of 
December 1949 

1 1 1 ( Wage credi; required 4 

‘state 
Fraction or Mze;infym Maximum Qualifying For minimum For maximum 

percentage of weekly 
wages specified 1 benefit 2 benefit 1 formula J -- 

High - quarter - 
wageformula: 

AlE3-.de------ 
Alaska...----- 
Ariz ___._._____ 
Ark--._------- 
Calif--. _--___ 
co10 _-__.....-- 
conr-~~---- 
Del _______.____ 
D. C. __.._.__ 
Fls. ___.._._____ 
aa-.---- ______ 
Hawaii-------- 
Idaho.. .____ 
Ill .___ ----- ____ 
Ind ____ - _____.. 
IOU?. _. ____.-. 
Km-. __.._... 
LS .._____ . . . . . 
Md- __.__...___ 
f%f”%h& _ _--- - 

_---____._ 
MO.------- ____ 
Mont--- _______ 
Nebr. _-- ______ 
NW----- ______ 
N. J.------ 
N. Mex ________ 
N. Y-_---- ____ 
N. Dek _____.._ 
Ohio . ..__....._ 
0kk.m ___.._. 
Pa----- __...... 
R. I-.. __...... 
s. c ____.. ..--- 
S. Dak..... ____ 
Tern------- 
TeX-...----~~~ 
Utah ~o--~_--_- 

vt----- ___._.-_ 
Vfl . __ . . . . .- _ 
WY0 --.-...---- 

Ang;il;age 

Ky ______ I _---- 
Maine. _ _ __ ____ 
Minn.-- ____.._ 
N. H. _______._ 
N. C _ _ _______ 
Oreg ________.__ 
Wash-. ________ 
w. Va . . ..-- -- 

yae~---------~~~ $4. Ml $20.00 
$4o+d. 8.. _____ 8.00-10.00 25.00-40.00 
Mo+d.a .._____ 5.O& ;:;“.“~26~ 
yd.63 __-.--___ 
?.40-$43 ..-----_. 10.03 25.00 
$45 ___.......___ 7.00 22.75 
$&+d.s..--s-e “.“‘~:~24.“~7~ 
Ha- _____...--__ 
%+d.e .._____ “.“;:T ~20.00 
%8+ik ._...--__ 15.00 
?r4-y20---.-~ 4.00 18.00 
y2sL-...~-- 5.00 25.w 
Ms-$44 __....___ 10.00 20.00 
‘yio-~.~-~.-..- 10.00 25.00 
$45 ___.....-.__. 5. Ml 20.00 
pioe----- ______ - 5. 00 22.50 
j4LT. ____.____ 5.00 727.00 
$40.---.- _..__ -_ 5.00 25.00 
%+d. e ..____ 
%o+d.a .._.___ 

6.M “.00’25.~OI%(.O 

$48. ___.....-__ - 
6.09- I$ 

20.00 
$4L __._....___ 8 .50 20.00 
$42 _______...___ 7.00 20. w 
%5--- ..__..._ -- 6.00 20.00 
$&+d. a. ..____ 8. $42.. __._...._ -- Ml;: O$25.“%: z 

Ue ____._...__ -_ 5.00 2Q.w 
$43.-- ___..--__ - 10.00 26. Oil 
‘,4s+d. a- _..___. 5.00- 7.00 20 00-26.00 
11$7-$44+d. a.._ 10. “I;: ;; 25.0”;;:; 
$4L--- _______ 
$45. __....-.--__ 8. oil 25. Ml 
$40.----- _____ -- 10.00 25.00 
$40 .~... __.__ -. 5. oil 20.00 
?40-ML--.---.. 6.00 2o.w 
$4-$4e.--...--- 5.00 20 00 
pi-.. .._...__ -- 7.00 20. w 
$40 plus cost-of- 5.O0- 5.00 17.00-25.00 

living allow- 
ances. 

%8--uB-......-. 6.00 25.00 
~s.--------~~-- 5.00 moo 
$%,+d. a.------ 7.00-10.00 25.00-31.00 

30xwbam..----- 
Flat~~~.~--~----- 
30 x wba 3 J_----- 
30x wbs. .._-___ 
30 x wba e------- 
30xwba . . ..____ 
Flat 3 . .._ --_-___ 

30x wbs . .._ -___ 
25 x mbs to $250. 
30 x wbs ~---_--- 
25,30,40,xwba35- 
30xwbs..m _____ 
2&37x wba a---- 

;;;:?::;I-::::: 
20x wba...v--- 
Flat 2.. .-----___ 
30x wba.... ____ 
30xwbs.m .____. 
Blat----- ________ 
30 x wbe 5------- 
40 x wba a ____... 
30xwba ..____._ 
Flat-.-- __._..... 
30 x wbs 6.------ 
30x wbsm.m----- 
30x wba...----- 
30rwbs __.___._ 
28 xwbs..m----- 
14 weeks. .-_---_ 
20x wbe...----- 
30xwbs...----- 
Fl~t~~-~---~----- 
30 x wbs 5-_----- 
Flat~-~~~-------- 
25, 30 x wba g_--- 
Flat 8~._--__-v. 
19 weeks 11 and 

16% of average 
State wage. 

30 x wba.. .----- 
20, 25 x wba Pm-_. 
25xwbs _______ - 

875.01 
37.50 
37.50 
52.50 
75.00 
52.50 
60.00 
52 50 
37.50 
37.50 
48.00 
37.50 

150.00 
75.00 
75.00 
25.00 
25.00 
37.50 

156.00 
37.50 
22.50 
2. 50 

52.50 
75.00 
60.00 
67.50 
78. 00 

loo. lxl 
35.00 
80.00 
30. cm 
60.00 
25.00 

100.00 
60.00 
50. a3 
50.00 
88.00 

$120. CKI $507.01 
150.00 480.01 
150.00 380.01 
210.00 572.00 
300.00 580.00 
210.00 562.51 
24O.W 611.00 
210.00 612.51 
150.00 437.01 
150.00 345.01 
loo. 00 455.01 
150.00 600.01 
250.00 475.01 
3OO.00 490.01 
250.00 475.01 
1w.w 450.00 
lO0.00 600.01 
150.00 480.01 
180.00 637.00 
150.00 480.00 
90. WI 494.01 
20.00 487.51 

210. Ml 422.21 
300.00 450.01 
240.00 600.01 
270.00 462.01 
150.00 494.01 
3OO.00 586.00 
140.00 437.01 

240.00 613.00 
10O.00 490.00 
150.00 40O.00 
125. W 450.00 
125.00 494.01 
2oo.w 494.01 
352. W 380.00 

%%Y 
6oo.w 
660. w 
750. w 
682.50 
6ll.W 
750.00 
437.01 
450.00 
720.00. 

E: EZ 
490.01 
475.01 
4.50. M 
600.01 
750.00 
750.00 
480. cm 
6oo.w 
800.00 
6M). 00 
450.01 
750. Ml 

E:E 
780.00 
560.00 
581.00 
420.01 
750.00 
490.00 
6w.w 
450. oil 
600.00 
494.01 

I* 555.38 

2.3-1.1s ________ 7. cm 
Z.&O.85 .__.___ -- 6.00 
3.3-0.91.-----___ 10. I30 
3.0-1.25 .________ 6.00 
3.0-1.0 .------___ 6.00 
3.7Fro.96 ________ 15.00 
1.7-l% . .._ -___ 10.00 
2.7-1.0 __________ 8.00 

20.00 Schedule-------- _...___ 300.00 __.._._ 1,755.00 
25. CKl Schedule-~--~--- __..___ 300.00 2,950.00 _..._._, 
25.00 Schedule . . ---_ -_.____ 300.00_-- ~2,750.OO ____ 
25.00 Schedule _____... . . ..___ 200.00 ~~~-~~-~2,ooO. 00 
25.00 Schedule-... ____ _...___ 262.00 _....._ ‘2,50O. 00 
25.00 Schedule __.____. _._.___ 400.00 -__.-_-!2.600.00 
25.00 Schedule-------. _..____ 600.00 _-----_ 2.100.00 
25.00 Schedule--- ____ - __...._, 300.00 2,500.oO . .._._ 

Average-weekly 

1 The fraction of high-quarter wagos applies be- 
tween the minimum end maximum amounts. When 
State uses a weighted table, approximate fractions 
*re figured at midpoint 01 brackets between mini- 
mum and maximum. When dependents’ allowances 
are provided the fraction applies to the basic benent 
amount. With annual-wage formula, ii-action is 
minimum and maximum percentage used in any 
wage bracket. Dependents’ allowances abbreviated 
as d. s.; see table 8 for details. 

2 When 2 amounts are given, higher includes 
dependents’ allowance except in Utah (see footnote 
10). Higher figure for minimum benefit amount 
includes allowance for 1 dependent; for maximum 
benefit amount, includes allowance for maximum 
number of dependents. The District of Columbia 
pays the same maximum with or without depend- 
ents. Maximum augmented payment to individual 
with dependents not shown for Massachusetts; see 
p. 16. 

8 Bssod on wages or employment in a specified 
prior period-2 years in Missouri and 1 year in all 
other States. States footnoted require wages in at 
least 2 quarters; Missouri, 3 quarters. Weekiy benefit 
amount abbreviated as wbs. 

4 See also table 4 for wage credits required for 
maximum duration. 

5 If claimant failed to receive qualifying wage for 
weekly benefit amount computed on high-quarter 
viages but received qualifying wages in next lower 
bracket, he is eligible for lower weekly benefit. 

6 Bese-period wages equal to 1% times high- 
quarter wages or 30 times wba, whichever is less, 
but not less than $300. 

7 One-half sversge State weekly wage; for 1950, $27. 
8 If weekly benefit is less than $3, total benefits 

we payable in $3 weekly amounts. 
8 Minimum number of weeks applies to minimum 

weekly benefit only. Same step-down provision as 
described in footnote 5. 

‘0 The normal rates are minimum ?& maximum 
$20, currently increased 20 percent (to next higher 
dollar) with increase in the consumers’ price index. 
Minimum earnings required for minimum benefits 
ere those now applicable for benefit years beginning 
July 3, 1949, to Apr. 1, 1950. 

11 Weeks of employment at $8.01 or more (Michi- 
gan); with average wage of $12 or more (Wisconsin); 
at least 16 hours or 2 full days (Utah). 

12 Figured as 14 times minimum and maximum 
average weekly wage brackets (Michigan and Wis- 
consin); 19 times average weekly wage in high 
quarter, assuming 13 weeks’ work in the quarter 
(Utah). 

ment, a claimant must have base-pe- 
riod wages of $3,432. 

Benefits for partial unemploy- 
merit.-Six States simplified or liber- 
alized their provisions for partial un- 
employment. The greatest change 
was in Nebraska, which shifted from a 
conventional formula-benefits for a 
week of partial unemployment equal 
to the weekly benefit amount minus 
earnings for the week in excess of 
$3--to a provision like that used in 
Michigan and Wisconsin. If a 
claimant’s earnings in a week of less 
than full-time work are less than half 
his weekly benefit amount, he gets the 
full weekly benefit; if they are half his 
weekly benefit but less than the full 
weekly amount,, he gets half a weekly 
benefit. 

Texas put its partial benefits on a 
weekly instead of a biweekly basis, 
defining a claimant’s week of partial 
unemployment as a week of less than 
full-time work with earnings of less 
than his weekly benefit amount, plus 
$3, and paying partial benefits with 
the same earnings allowance. West 
Virginia increased its earnings allow- 
ance from $3 to $6 in both the defi- 
nition of a week of partial unem- 
ployment and the formula for deter- 
mining the amount of partial benefits. 
Arkansas changed its definition of 
partial unemployment from a week 
with earnings of less than 6/5 of the 
weekly benefit amount to earnings of 
less than the weekly benefit amount. 
Thirty-eight States now have this 
simple method of determining the ex- 
istence of partial unemployment,. 

All States except Montana provide 
for the payment of beneflts when un- 
deremployment reaches a certain 
stage. In Montana, some workers 
who would be considered partially un- 
employed under most, State laws are 
paid benefits for total unemployment, 
since earnings from odd-job or sub- 
sidiary work, or both, of not, more than 
$7 or a day’s work of not more than 
8 hours are disregarded. New York 
continues to pay benefits for less than 
full weeks of unemployment on a 
day-base plan. An effective day is a 
day of unemployment, in excess of 3 
days of unemployment in a statutory 
week of not, more than 3 days of em- 
ployment and earnings of not more 
than $24. Benefits are not, paid for 
each week separately but only after 
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Maximum potential benefits in a benefit year, by State, December 1949 

D.A.=DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES 

a claimant has accumulated 4 effec- 
tive days. 

The amount of the partial earnings 
allowance is $3 in the largest number 
of States (24) ; a $2 in 11 States; $5 
in Alaska, Idaho, and Washington; $6 
in Utah and West Virginia. In Ha- 
waii and Massachusetts there is no 
allowance and in South Carolina, only 
$1. In the District of Columbia the 
allowance c2/’ of the weekly bene- 
fit) varies from $2.40 to $8; in Ken- 
tucky it is +$,, and in Missouri ‘/6 of 
the wages earned in the week. 

Dependents’ Allowances 

Six States added provisions for de- 
pendents’ allowances in 1949, making 
11 States, with 21 percent of the cov- 
ered workers, that increase weekly 
beneflts for claimants with specified 

8See Comparison of State Unemploy- 
ment Insurance Laws, op. cit., pp. 51-54. 

types of dependents (table 8). The 
Alaska provision is effective only for 
benefit years beginning on and after 
July 1, 1949, and the Wyoming pro- 
vision, for benefit years beginning on 
and after January 1, 1950. 

Massachusetts and Nevada liber- 
alized their dependents’ allowance 
provisions. Massachusetts provided 
for payment of dependents’ allow- 
ances during partial unemployment 
and removed the limitation on maxi- 
mum potential benefits for claimants 
with dependents so that they can draw 
such allowances as long as they are 
eligible for basic benefits. Nevada 
increased maximum dependents’ al- 
lowances from $2 for each of three 
dependents to $3 for each of four de- 
pendents but limited augmented ben- 
efits to 6 percent of high-quarter 
wages. Though the fraction for de- 
termining the basic weekly benefit 
was reduced by this legislature, the 
maximum dependents’ allowance for 

low-wage earners is much less than ’ 
the maximum stated (table 8). 

Definition of dependent.-The pro- 
visions for dependents’ allowances in 
the 11 States vary greatly in the de% 
nition of compensable dependent and 
in the amount of the allowance grant- 
ed. In general, a dependent must be 
“wholly or mainly supported by the 
claimant” or “living with or receiving 
regular support from him.” In 
Alaska, allowances are paid only for 
dependents residing in the Territory. 

In all these 11 States, “dependents” 
include children under a specified age 
(16 to 19). In seven States lo chil- 
dren are the only dependents recog- 
nized. The intent is to include all 
children whom the claimant is morally 
obligated to support (District of Co- 

o Under age 16: Connecticut, the District 
of Columbia, Maryland, Nevada; under 18: 
Alaska, Arizona, Massachusetts, Michigan, 
North Dakota, Ohio: under 19: Wyoming. 

I0 Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, North Dakota, Ohio, Wyoming. 
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Table 2.-Changes in maximum 
weekly benefit amounts, 1949 legis- 
lation 

. 
state /- 

1949 
amend 

malt 

Alaska---_--------- __---__ 
Arizona ____ -----___ _----__ 
Arkansas.. .--__-__ $22.00 
Colorado--.w- ______ 22. i5 
DeIswsre....~. _... 25.00 
Illinois I-. .-- _.___. 25.00 
Iowa---- _____ ------ 22.50 
Kansas * _.____ --__- zi.00 
Maine---..---_----- 25.00 
MaIl;land-- ___._... ______. 

Michipan~~..~~~.... 24.00 
Minnesota. .._----- 25 00 
Montana ____ --_--__ 20.00 
Xebraska--v------- 20.00 
Nevada-w------ 25.00 
New IIampshire-- 25.00 
North Carolina. _-_ 25.00 
North Dakota..--- __----- 
Ohio----.-~-------. 25 00 
Oklahoma...--w--d 22.00 

Omgon..--~~------ 2.500 
Pennsgiranis...... 25.00 
Tennessee--.-~---- 20.00 
Texas-- _____ ------ 20.00 
Vermont..--------- 25.00 
West Virginia----.- 25.00 
Wisconsin__-_------ 26.00 
Wyoming 4--------- 25.00 

Prior 1949 Prior 
pro- amend- pro- 

&ion ment vision 
-__- 

25.00 $40.00 _-----_ 
20.00 26.00 ------_ 
20.00 ___.... - ..-..-- 
17.50 _-_.... - . . . . ..- 
13.00 -_----__ _..~.__ 
moo _-----__ - ______ 
20.00 _- _____ ___.___ 
1a.00 ----____--..__- 
22.50 _--_____-_..._- 
25.00 , 33.00 ______ 

20.00 13 32.00 3 23.00 
20.00 
18.00 

1. ______ - ___.._- 
:- _______ __..___ 

f3:g ,---o- __...-- 
26. oil 

22.00 _---_-_. .._~.__ 
20.00 ----_--- - _____. 
20.00 26.00 - _..___ 
21.00 31.00 _....-- 
18.00 _____.- - . . . ..-- 

20.00 ,- ____.- - - ______ 
20.00 :----_--- -- _____ 
iY.00 /----_.-- - __.___ 
lS.00 I--- ___- - ___._-. 
20.00 - _____- - - _...__ 
20.00 -- ___.- - __....- 
24.00 ~----__-- ___._._ 
20.00 j ’ 31.00 ___.__- 

1 ?Tot e&ctive until Apr. 1, 1950. 
9 Maximum equals one-half average Ststo wge- 

$25 in 1949, $27 in 1950. 
3 Incresw in augmented benefit results only from 

increase in basic benefit. 
1 Dependents’ ellaprance effective only for benefit 

pms beginning on and after Jan. 1.1950. 

lumbia) or ail whom he “is responsible 
for and does support” (Wyoming). 
Hence stepchildren are included in all 
States except Massachusetts, and 
adopted children are included in Ari- 
zona, Michigan, North Dakota, and 
Wyoming. Married children are ex- 
cluded in Arizona and North Dakota, 
gainfully employed children in Ne- 
vada, and those earning more than $5 
in a claim week in North Dakota. In 
Alaska, the District of Columbia, 
Michigan, and Nevada, allowances 
may be paid in behalf of older children 
who are unable to work because of 
physical or mental disability. 

Four States pay allowances on be- 
half of other dependents also. In- 
cluded within their definitions of 
dependents are wives who are not 
regularly engaged in rendering serv- 
ices for remuneration or in any occu- 
pation for profit (Alaska and Nevada) ; 
nonworking spouses receiving regular 
support from the claimant (Arizona) ; 
spouses unable to work because of dis- 
ability (District of Columbia) ; bus- 
bands unable to work (Alaska and 

Nevada) ; parents, stepparents, and 
parents-in-law, wholly or mainly SUP- 

ported by the claimant (Arizona) ; and 
dependent parents, brothers, and 
sisters who are unable to work because 
of age or disability (Alaska, the Dis- 
trict of Columbia, and Nevada). In 
Arizona no claimant can receive an 
aiIowance for any dependent who is 
receiving benefits on the basis of his 
own wage credits. 

Week@ amount of dependents’ al- 
Zowances.-The amount allowed for 
each dependent varies from $1 in the 
District of Columbia to $3 in Connect- 
icut, Nevada, and Wyoming; Michi- 
gan allows from $1 to $2, and Alaska, 
from $2 to $5, according to the basic 
weekly benefit amount (table 8). Ail 
States have a limit on the total de- 
pendents’ allowances payable in any 
week-in terms of dollar amount, 
number of dependents, percentage of 
basic benefit or of average weekly 
wage, or some combination of these 
factors. Only in Massachusetts can 
any claimant receive allowances for 
more than four dependents. In Ohio 
and Wyoming the limit is two; in 
Alaska, Arizona, the District of Co- 
lumbia, and North Dakota, three; in 
Connecticut, Maryland, Michigan, 
and Nevada, four. 

Moreover, in several States the limi- 
tations on maximum allowances in 
terms of a percentage of high-quarter 
wages or of weekly benefit amount re- 
suit in reducing the nominal ailow- 
ante per dependent or the number of 
dependents on whose behaIf allow- 
ances may be paid. In Massachusetts, 
Nevada, and Wyoming, for instance, 
the claimant who barely qualifies for 
the minimum weekly benefit is not 
eligible for any allowance for depend- 
ents. Only in Arizona, the District of 
Columbia, Maryland, and Ohio can a 
claimant with the minimum weekly 
benefit draw the maximum amount of 
dependents’ allowances provided in 
the law. In Arizona and Maryland a 
claimant with the minimum weekly 
benefit may receive more than his 
basic benefit in dependents’ allow- 
ances if he is eligible for the maxi- 
mum allowances. In Nevada no 
claimant with a weekly benefit of less 
than $23 can get the fuiI $12 allowed 
for four dependents, and only in the 
maximum $25-benefit bracket are a.11 
claimants eligible for $12 if ‘they have 

four or more dependents. The Dis- 
trict of Columbia has a different type 
of limit in that the maximum weekly 
benefit is the same ($20) with or with- 
out dependents; thus no claimant 
with a weekly benefit of more than 
$17 can draw the maximum depend- 
ents’ allowance of $3 per week. 

In Massachusetts there is no limit 
on the weekly allowance except in 
terms of the average weekly wage as 
defined in the law and the number of 
dependent children. The claimant 
who has $480 in high-quarter wages 
(the minimum amount that qualifies 
him for the maximum basic benefits) 
could have a.n allowance for six de- 
pendents because his total beneflts 
are limited to his average weekly wage, 
which in this case would be $37. One 
who had been paid maximum taxable 
wages ($3,000) in his high quarter 
would receive $2 for each of his de- 
pendent children under age 18, no 
matter how many. 

Table 3.-Summary of provisions for 
minimum weekly benefit, maximum 
weekIy benefit, and maximum 
potential bene$ts in State un- 
employment insurance laws, 1948 
and 1949 

Item and amount 

Total number of 
state% ___-____._ -- 

Total number of 
states..--------~~. 

$240 but less than $40X-_. 
400 but less than 51x-~.-_. 
500 but less than 600.m-m.. 
600 but loss than 700--.__. 
More than 7OOm ________. :I 

Number of States with 
specified amounts 

1948, 
with- 
out 
de- 

“::: 

!Vith. 
ut de- 
pend- 
ents 

_- 

16 Social Security 



Table 4.-Duration provisions in State laws as of December 1949 

Minimum poten- 
tial benefits 1 Maximum potential benefits 

Proportion of wages in Wage credits 
Cquarter base period required 1 

Amount Weeks Amount’ Weeks 
Hieh Base 

quarter period 

Uniform potential duration for all eligible claimants 

Arizona~~---~--------.~-----~~~-~.--.~--~---~--- 
Oeorgia~~~~~-~--~--~...~~---~~--~---~---~---~-.. 
Haa-aii-----------.---- _--- . ..__ -_.-~._--__~._~.- 100.00 
Kentueky-~~~~~----~~.~---.~----.~--~~--~-..~~-- 154.00 
Maine-~--------------.~..-..~---.~~-~~--..--~~-- 120.00 
Mississippi~-.-----~~.. _-----_---_---_---_.-----. 48.00 
Montana.------------~ _---.-----__--_---_--.---- 126.00 
Now Hampshirc....-.~~~-~-~.~-.---~~--~~--.--. 138.00 
New York..~--------.~~-~~-~..~...-~~~-~.--~.~- 260.00 
North Carolins~.~~--. _---_-__--___-__--__-.---- 120.00 
North Dakota----.w--- _.~-~-..~- _...___ ~__~~.~~. 
South Carolina-------- . ..-.- . . .._...__ --__.~..~- 

1;:~~ 

TennessPe....~..~..... --------------------~~---~ 100.01I 
Vermont---~--..--.... ---.--_--.---------------- 120.00 
West Virginia-.- _.__.. _-----_---_---_-------~--- 184.00 

- 

9 

- 

i240-312 
288 

ii 

4 
360 
575 
676 
500 

4cG520 
366 
404 
500 
575 

%i: i: “%:Z 
600.01 750.00 

3 438.75 I, 755.00 
3 737.50 2,950.oo 

494.01 600.04 
422.23 640.00 

~54xl.00 2, ma 00 
586.00 780.04 

3 625.00 2,5cn3.00 
437.01 660.00 
400.00 600.00 
494.01 600.00 
650.00 750.90 

3 625.00 2,500.00 

Maximum potential duration varying with wage credits 

Alabama~-~~~-~~~-~--- 
Alaska- ____________ --- 
Arkansas--~-~~~~--~--- 
California- _______ -__-- 
Colorado-. _______ -_--- 
Connecticut--~-------- 
DPlaWarC.~~.-~~~-~~~- 
District of Columbia.- 
Florida __.._.____.._._ 
Idaho- __.._._ -___-___- 
Illinois_-------~------- 
Indiana.----~---~----. 
IOW*--~-~~~-~---~----~ 

Ka~sas----~~~-~~--~~-- 
Louisiana ._______ -__-- 
Maryland-m- _______ --- 
nlassachusetts--------- 
Michigan ___.___.. ~___- 
Minnesota ___... ______ 
Missouri ._____...______ 
Nebraska...---------- 
Nevada ._____ ---_----_ 
New Jersey. .._------- 
New Mexico_---------- 
Ohio~-----.-.-...-~~-- 
Oklahoma------------. 
Oregon--~---~-------~~ 
Pennsylvania..---.--. 
Rhode Island....~...~ 
South Dakota--~------ 
Texas.----~~--~------- 
Utah ________________ -- 

Virginia--~------------~ 
Washington...----~--- 
Wisconsin.----~---~--- 
Wyoming...------ ____ 

M---.~--~~--~~-.~------~ 
~---~~~-~~--~~-.----~-~~ 
4&22 percent------~--~~. 
47-33 percent-.---.---.-. 
$4 _._....-..._____ ---_--- 
55 ___..._-_..... ._~.._... 
$5 _._--..-_.__..._._ -__-- 

$4.-- ____ --_------~ __.. 
3/io~~~-~~~-~~-~-----.-~~. 
39 weeks of employment- 
47-23 percent -.--._______ 
$6 in 8 quarters-. _____ -_- 
$L.-- ___._____ ----- ____ 
!*j __.._...______ --__--_-_ 

52-27 percent---------___ 
48-22 percent--~~-~~----- 
~d.........~~.....~...... 
Schedule in percent of 

average State wages.9 
4/r--.~~~~~---~---~--~~~~~ 
25-31 percent-.....~~~~~~ 
34 weeks of employment- 
‘//4----------------------- 

2:: :i 
70.00 

150.00 
70.00 
70.00 
77.00 
75.00 
38.00 

loo. 00 
140.00 
62.00 
33.33 
34.00 
5o.ou 
45.m 
45.00 
56.00 

140.00 
5.00 

102.00 
80.00 
90.00 
60.00 

160.00 
40.00 

100.00 
72. Oil 
52.00 
60.00 
40. Ml 

Q150.00 

30.00 
150.90 
85.50 
42.00 

1 Maximum potential benefits for claimants with 
minimum qualifying wages. (See table 1 for quali- 
fying wages.) In States noted, weeks for claimants 
with minimum weekly benefit will be greater than 
figure here for claimants whose weekly benefit is 
higher than the minimum because qualifying wages 
are concentrated largely or wholly in high quarter; 
we table 1 for minimum weekly benefit and divide 
into minimum potential benefits. In Arizona, 
Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Massachu- 
setts, Michigan, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, and 
Wyoming, dependents’ allowances, bemg outside 
the duration formula, may add to potential benefits 
for claimants with minimum qualifying wages. 
See table 8 for additional weekly allowance. 

a When 2 amounts are given, higher includes maxi- 
mum dependents’ aIlowances: same maximum 
with or without dependents’ allowance’s in Alaska 
and District of Columbia; no maximum augmented 
benefit given for Massachusetts since augmented 
weekly benefit is practicaily unlimited; see table 8. 

1 Annual-wage formula; amount shown for high 
quarter is W of required base-period wages. 
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866466-50-3 

10 
68 PE 
10 352 

1 12+ 650 
10 455 
‘6+ 624-936 

6 11 650 
1 10+ 400 

7f 240 
IO 400 

6 10 650 
‘6f 400 

E$ 450 540 

10 7+ 650-% 
’ 5f 57&(Z) 

9+ 4ay2; 

81;1+ 
‘8+ iii 
10 65+962 

6 10 572 

I:;+ 65lGz 

ii: 484 650 
9 600 
5+ 

l6+ :iz 
5+ 480 

Q 15 500 

1: 320 650 
Qf 689 
6 500-620 

L 

%i: ii: 
572.00 
580.00 
562.51 

6620.00 
649.51 
437.01 
345.01 
475.01 

6 493.75 
4i5.01 
450.00 
600.01 
480.01 

~85s.00 
480.00 

7 546.13 
3687.50 

487.51 
450.01 
600.01 
462.01 
494.01 
581.00 
420.01 

3 650.00 
613.00 

~600.00 
450.00 

~600.00 
6 550.00 

“;, ;;I g 

’ 990.01 
I, 298.01 
I, 365.00 
2,480.OO 
2,598.Ol 

798.01 
956.01 

I, 820.00 
1,975.oo 
I, 600.00 
I, 350.00 
1,5Ml.OO 
1,497.Ol 
3,432. oil 
1,913.34 
I, 260.30 
2,750.oo 
1,6c@.oo 
1,185. @I 
I, 947.01 
1,713.Ol 

997.51 
973.51 

1,449.Ol 
2,mo. 00 
2,057.oo 
2,400.oo 
1,800.00 
2,400.oo 
2,200.00 

475.01 I, 240.01 
3 525.00 2,100.00 
7 650.13 2, oal. 40 
6 487.51 I, 950.01 

- 

4 Converted from days of unemployment. 
6 Statutory minimum. 
6 Amount shown is $G of base-period wakes. To 

obtain maximum potential annual benefits, claimant 
must have more than 4 times high-quarter wages 
necessary for maximum weekly benefit; see table 1. 

7 Figures given are based on highest average weekly 
wage in schedule ($42.01). High-quarter figure as- 
sumes 13 weeks of employment; base-period figure 
assumes the 30 weeks required for maximum dura- 
tion. 

8 A claimant eligible for the minimum benefit 
amount may draw all benefits due in 1 and a fraction 
weeks because when benefits are 50 cents to $3 a 
week, total benefits are paid at rate of $3 a week. 

0 Maximum potential benefits of $150 for 16 percent 
of average State w*ges to $500 for 100 percent are not 
increased by cost-of-living allowance that raises 
weekly benefits; hence,, weeks of duration are re- 
duced. Statutory mimmum is 15 weeks. QuaIffy- 
ing wages shown are for benefit years beginning 
on and after Apr. I, 1950, based on 1949 average 
wages. 

In Nevada no dependents’ allow- 
ances are payable if both parents are 
receiving benefits; in five States 
(Alaska, Connecticut, the District of 
Columbia, Nevada, and Ohio) only 
one parent may draw allowances if 
both are receiving benefits simultane- 
ously. In Michigan, only the father 
can receive dependents’ allowances 
unless the mother is the child’s sole or 
principal support; and in Wyoming, 
only the parent having custody. 

Dependents’ allowances for par- 
tially unemployed Workers-Claim- 
ants who are eligible for partial bene- 
fits may draw dependents’ allowances 
in all the States that provide these al- 
lowances. In all States the existence 
of partial unemployment is measured 
by the basic rather than the aug- 
mented benefrt amount. Except in 
Michigan, the full allowance is paid 
for a week of partial unemployment 
and the allowance for dependents 
may be greater than the basic benefit 
for partial unemployment. A Nevada 
claimant with a weekly benefit rate of 
$24 and four compensable depend- 
ents, for example, would receive $5 
as basic benefit and $12 as depend- 
ents’ allowances in a week in which 
he earned $22.50. He would, however, 
be ineligible for any benefits in a week 
in which he earned $24 or more. In 
Michigan the dependents’ allowance is 
considered part of the “full weekly 
benefit rate”; and the beneflt for a 
week of partial unemployment, which 
is always one-half of the weekly bene- 
fit, includes only one-half of the de- 
pendents’ allowance. In the District 
of Columbia, claimants with the maxi- 
mum weekly benefit who are not en- 
titled to any dependents’ allowance 
when totally unemployed may draw 
such allowances when partially un- 
employed. 

Relation of dependents’ allowances 
to duration of benefits.-In Alaska the 
maximum potential benefits in a ben- 
efit year are not increased for claim- 
ants with dependents’ allowances; 
when the weekly benefit is augmented, 
the number of weeks of benefits is de- 
creased. In the District of Columbia 
the maximum potential benefits for 
claimants entitled to the maximum 
weekly benefit amount are the same 
for claimants with or without depend- 
ents because the maximum weekly 
benefit for total unemployment is the 
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same with or without dependents. In 
the other States and for claimants 
eligible for less than the maximum in 
the District of Columbia the depend- 
ent%’ allowances are added to the 
basic weekly benefit as long as it is 
payable; in Maryland, however, the 
dependents’ allowances are included 
in the benefit formula for duration 
purposes, and claimants with the 
maximum weekly benefit ($25) and 
maximum compensable dependents 
(four) can receive $33 weekly for 26 
weeks only if they have earned $3,432 
in the base period. In five States,” 
where full allowances for dependents 
are paid for weeks of partial benefits, 
the maximum potential benefits and 
allotinces in a benefit year may be 
greater than the maximum augment- 
ed benefits for the maximum number 
of weeks of total unemployment pro- 
vided in the law. 

Waiting Period 

The trend toward shorter waiting 
periods continued in the 1949 enact- 
ments. Nevada joined Maryland in 
eliminating the waiting-period re- 
quirement, and Minnesota, Nebraska, 
Ohio, and Wyoming reduced the wait- 
ing period from 2 weeks to 1 week. 
Four States- still require 2 weeks of 
initial waiting period; nine States= 
require 2 or more weeks of partial un- 
employment in lieu of 1 week of total 
unemployment; and Texas retains the 
requirement of additional waiting 
weeks during a benefit year if unem- 
ployment is intermittent. 

As a result of the 1949 legislation, 
93 percent of the covered workers are 
now covered by 45 laws that require 
1 week of total unemployment as an 
initial waiting period, 5 percent are 
in four States that require 2 weeks 
of total unemployment, and 2 percent 

11 Arizona, Connecticut, Nevada, North 
Dakota, and Wyoming. 

12Colorado, Georgia, and Wisconsin, 2 
weeks of total or partial unemployment: 
Montana, 2 weeks of total unemployment. 

I8 Alabama, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mis- 
souri, North Carolina, Rhode Island, and 
Tennessee require 2 weeks of partial un- 
employment. In New Hampshire, 1 week 
of partial unemnlovment sufllces if it is 
foliowed by a weeii of total unemploy- 
ment. In New York the 4 “effective days” 
which constitute the waiting period may 
be accumulated in 1. 2, 3, or 4 weeks. 

are in two States with no waiting- 
period requirement. 

Availability and Disqualifca- 
tion 

While potential beneflts were in- 
creased in more than half the 
States, several States made it more 
difficult for individual claimants to 
draw benefits. 

Active search for work.-The trend 
continued toward statutory require- 
ments that claimants must not only 
be able to work and available for work 
but must also be “actively seeking 
work.” Seven States added such 
provisions; in Vermont and Wisconsin 
the requirement is discretionary with 
the agency; in Colorado, Illinois, Kan- 
sas, Maine, and Ohio, it is mandatory. 
Maryland changed its “actively seek- 
ing work” provision from a require- 
ment for eligibility for any week’s 
benefits to a lo-week disqualification. 
These amendments bring to 22 the 
States with statutory provisions re- 
quiring an active search for work.” 

Disqualification for special 
causes. - Nebraska, Pennsylvania, 
South Carolina, and Tennessee added 
a disqualification for fraudulent mis- 
representation to obtain or increase 
benefits, making 33 States with such 
provisions. Five States (Arkansas, 
California, Maine, Utah, and Wash- 
ington) increased the disqualiflcatfon 
imposed for this cause. 

Arkansas, Illinois, Kansas, and Ver- 
mont added a special disqualification 
for unemployment due to pregnancy; 
and Arkansas and Illinois added, 
while Wyoming deleted, a special dis- 
qualification for leaving work because 
of marital obligations. At the end of 
the sessions, 23 States had a special 
disqualification for unemployment 
due to pregnancy, 18 for marital ob- 
ligations, and 29 for one or both of 
these causes. 

Utah added a special disqualifica- 
tion for a discharge for gross miscon- 
duct, making 14 States with such pro- 
visions separate from the regular dis- 
qualification provision for a discharge 
for misconduct. 

Increased disqualification periods.- 
Six States increased disqualification 

14For further detail on this provision 
and others described in this section see 
Comparison of State Unemployment In- 
surance Laws, op. cit., chapter IV. 

Table 5.-Summary of maximum 
duration provisions in State unem- 
ployment insurance laws, 1948 and 
1949 

Number of States with speci- 
fied maximum 

Maximum weeks of 
benefits 

I 1949 

12-18 -______-...----__ 
fi 2: 

5 3 
20 .-.-______ _._-. .-_ _ _ 
21-24 ________ ____ -__-- 

T ; 

: 15 
4 

25 .______ _____ ___.___ _ 0 
26 and 2if.- ________ 7 13 1 1; 

periods for one or more of the major 
causes (voluntary leaving, discharge 
for misconduct, and refusal of suit- 
able work). Arkansas changed the 
period from the week of the disquali- 
fying act plus l-5 weeks additional to 
the week of the disqualifying act plus 
10 weeks of unemployment, for the 
three causes. Three States with var- 
iable disqualification up to the max- 
imum duration of benefits increased 
the disqualification period when they 
increased the potential duration of 
benefits. In Colorado the maximum 
disqualification period for the three 
major causes is 20 weeks; in South 
Carolina, for a discharge for miscon- 
duct, 18 weeks; and in Texas, 24 weeks 
for voluntary leaving and discharge 
for misconduct and 12 weeks for re- 
fusal of suitable work, with manda- 
tory reduction of benefits for all 
causes. Illinois changed from a var- 
iable 3-7 week disqualification for 
voluntary leaving to a flat disquali- 
fication of 6 weeks for which the 
claimant has registered for work. 
Ohio increased the disqualification for 
a discharge for just cause in connec- 
tion with the work from 3 weeks to 
the week of the discharge plus 4 weeks 
but decreased the mandatory reduc- 
tion of benefits from 6 weeks to 3 
weeks. 

Vermont limited good cause for 
voluntary leaving to causes attributa- 
ble to the employer. Eighteen States 
now have such provisions. 

Countertrend toward less strict eli- 
gibility or disqualification provi- 
sions.-During the same sessions, nine 
States relaxed the conditions for eligi- 
bility for benefits in one or more ways. 
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Vermont modified its able-to-work re- 
quirement by providing that claimants 
who become disabled after qualifying 
for beneflts may continue eligible as 
long as no work, suitable but for the 
disability, is offered and refused. 
Idaho, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, 
and Tennessee had earlier adopted 
similar provisions. 

Colorado amended its voluntary 
quit provision so that good personal 
cause as well as good cause “attribut- 
able to the employer” may prevent 
disqualification for voluntary leaving. 
Alabama liberalized the voluntary 
leaving provision, eliminating dis- 
qualifications under certain specified 
conditions in case of sickness and for 
students. Wisconsin also liberalized 
the voluntary leaving provision by 
providing that, when a claimant ac- 
cepts new work which he could have 
refused with good cause and leaves 
for the same good cause within 10 
weeks, he may if otherwise eligible 
draw benefits based on previous em- 
ployment. 

Washington decreased the period of 
disqualiilcation for voluntary leaving 
and discharge for misconduct from 
a variable 5-10 weeks to a flat 5 
weeks. South Dakota reduced from 
5 weeks to 1 week its minimum dis- 
qualification for a discharge for mis- 
conduct and a refusal of suitable work, 
while retaining the maximum dis- 
qualification of 10 weeks for these two 

quitting plus 4 weeks, but added a 
mandatory reduction of 3 weeks’ ben- 
efits. Tennessee reduced its disquali- 
fication for discharge for gross mis- 
conduct from a cancellation of bene- 
fit rights for the quarter in which the 
act occurred and the 4 succeeding 
quarters to postponement of benefits 
for a period of 12-52 weeks following 
the act. 

New Hampshire and Pennsylvania 
amended their provisions concerning 
disqualiilcation on account of a labor 
dispute. Both limited disqualification 
for a stoppage of work by eliminating 
a labor dispute due to lock-out as a 
cause of disqualification. 

Disqualifving income.-Seven States 
changed their provisions for dis- 
qualifying claimants for weeks in 
which they receive specified types of 
income. Arkansas, Hawaii, Rhode 
Island, and TeMeSSee repealed the 
disqualification for the receipt of old- 
age and survivors insurance beneflts, 
and Maryland, New Hampshire, and 
Texas, for the receipt of an employ- 
er’s pension. Arkansas, however, 
added as disqualifying income wages 
in lieu of notice and an employer’s 
pension. 

By the end of the 1949 sessions, only 
six States had disqualifications limited 
to voluntary leaving, discharge for 
misconduct, refusal of suitable work, 
and labor dispute. Twenty-two States 
now cancel or reduce beneflt rights 

causes, and added that weeks of dis- in case of disqualification for one or 
qualification must be weeks of un- 
employment for which claims are filed. 

more of the three major causes; 16 

Ohio reduced its disqualification for 
States cancel or reduce benefit rights 

voluntary leaving from the duration in case of disqualification for one or 

of the unemployment and until the more of the special causes. Only 13 

claimant has been reemployed and States have no provision for cancella- 

has earned at least four times his tion or reduction of benefits under 
weekly beneiit amount to the week of some disqualifying circumstances. 

Table 6 .-Number of States with specified maximum basic weekly benefit and 
maximum weeks of benefits for total unemployment, 1949 

Total Maximum basic weekly benefit 
Maximum weeks of benefits num- 

ber of 
states $15 $18 

TotalnulnberofStates------- 51 1 1 17 3 1 

Table 7.-Changes in maximum po- 
tential benefits, 1949 legislation 

Basic Augmented 
benefits benefits 1 

state 
1949 

amend 
ment 

- IL--- 
Arizona ____ - _____ -- -___---. 
Arkansas. _ _~ _____ 
Colorado ____ - ______ %,” 
Connecticut.. . ..__ 624 
Deleware..v-_- ____ 650 
Illinois a____ --_-___ 3 650 
IOWS . ..___ --- _____ 500 
Kansas~~~--------~ 540 
Mah%?..~..._-_--- 500 
Maryland---- ._____ ________ 

Massachusetts.. . ________ 
Michigan. _ ..-- __._ 480 
Minnesota. _ .-- __.. 
Montana-------__-_ EJ 
Nebraska-------_-_ 
Nevada ____ -_---___ 22 
New Hampshire-_. 575 
North Carolina-... 500 
zor;” Dakota. _-_- -__---__ 

_____----_-___ 650 

Oklahoms~..~~..~~ 484 
Oregon .____ --__---- 650 
Pennsylvania------ 
Tennew.....---- iii 
Texas __.._____ ----- 480 
Vermont.ww-~-----~ 
West Virginia----__ % 
Wisconsin ___--_---- 689 
Wyoming 3 _________ 500 

-I 

_- 

!- 

1949 Prior 
)rovi- amend- provi- 
sion ment sion 
-,~- 

$240 $312 -_--___ 
320 . ..___ -_ ____ -__ 
350 . .._ _____ -_ ---- 
528 
396 .2”- 2”” 
520 __-_--__ -___.__ 
400 -------- ---____ 
360 --__---- ---____ 
450 -------- --_____ 
650 858 ._.____ 

675 ! 2”240 575 

:ii -___---- -2” 
288 -___---- _____ -- 
324 ____ --_-___ ---- 
4M) 962 520 
506 . _ _ _ __ _ ____ __ 
320 -------_-______ 
400 520 . ..____ 
462 780 -----__ 

360 I . .._..__ _______ 
400 . .._.___ -______ 
480 . ..__.__ _______ 
360 ..______ _______ 
324 ..__.___ _______ 
4w ___ _ ____ _____ __ 
420 ________ _______ 
576 ________ _______ 
400 3 620 _______ 

1 Assuming weeks of total unemployment only; 
except in Michigan and Ohio, weeks of srtial un- 
employment could increase augmented Yx neEts in 
8 benefit year (see table 8). In Maryland, additional 
base-period wages would be required. 

f Increase due to increase in weeks of benefits in 
Connecticut and in basic benefits in Michigan. 

J Effective only for benefit years beginning on and 
after Jan. I., 1950 (Wyoming); for uniform benefit 
year beginrung Apr. 1, 1950 (Illinois). 

4 Limited only by average weekly wage and by 
number of dependent children; claimant with 13 
children under age 18 and average weekly wage of 
$51 could draw 51,173 in a benefit year. 

Disparities in Benefits for Same 
Wage Credits 

Most unemployment insurance laws 
have been amended at least once every 
2 years since they were enacted in the 
years 1935-37.‘” No two State laws 
were exactly alike in the beginning, 
and the differences are increased by 
amendments from year to year. The 
current differences in benefit pro- 
visions are shown, in part, in tables 
1 and 4, which report the differences 
from State to State in minimum and 
maximum weekly and annual benefits 
and in the qualifying wages for such 
beneflts. ‘The diversities are empha- 
sized in table 9, which shows the dif- 

I5 For earlier statements of differences in 
State laws, see Ruth Reticker, “State Un- 
employment Compensation Laws of 1945,” 
Social Security Bulletin, July 1945,pp.18- 
20, and “Variations in Beneflt Rights 
Under State Unemployment Compensa- 
tion Laws,” June 1942, pp. 4-11. 
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Table S.-Provisions for dependents’ allowances in 11 State laws, as of 
December 1949 

made, the entries for these States 
would have been different, but the 
maximum potential benefits would be 
only slightly affected. For example, 
if Claimant A had averaged $15.30 a 
week in the high quarter (as assumed 
in the table), but had worked at $10 
a week for 20 more weeks, he would 
have been eligible under the Michigan 
law for weekly benefits of $8 for 20 
weeks instead of $10 for 1’7% weeks. 
On the other hand, if he had worked 
at higher pay for fewer weeks but not 
less than 14 weeks, his weekly benefit 
would have been higher and his weeks 
of benefits would have been reduced 
accordingly. Ohio requires an indi- 
vidual to have had 14 weeks of em- 
ployment and $240 in wages during 
his base period to be eligible for bene- 
fits. It is not necessary to assume 
any specified number of weeks of em- 
ployment in the high quarter; it is as- 
sumed that each claimant has at least 
14 weeks within the base period. In- 
asmuch as Indiana and Minnesota re- 
quire recent employment experience 
in terms of specified amounts of 
wages in the last 2 quarters of the 
base period, it is assumed that the 
wages of each hypothetical claimant 
include such recent wages. 

Two low-wage claimants.-A is a 
claimant with high-quarter wages 
approximating the amount earned by 
not more than 5 percent of the claim- 
ants in all States in 1948. His base- 
period earnings of $400, twice his 
high-quarter earnings, make him an 
insured worker in all States except 
Washington, which requires at least 
$600. His $200 high-quarter wages 
($15 a week if he has steady employ- 
ment in that quarter) entitle him to 
the State’s minimum weekly benefits 
of $8 in Connecticut and Nevada, $10 
in four States, and $15 in Oregon. In 
43 States with minimum statutory 
weekly benefits of 50 cents to $10, A’s 
weekly benefit would vary from $7 in 
Maine to $14 in Utah with the CUF- 
rent adjustment to the cost of living. 
In the 50 States, Claimant A would be 
entitled to weekly benefits of less 
than $9 in 20 States, of $9 in seven 
States, $10 in 17 States, and more 
than $10 in six States. 

In 11 States a claimant like A would 
be entitled to dependents’ allowances 
if he had dependents of the types de- 
scribed earlier. His maximum allow- 

Social Security 

- - 

Teekl: 
allow- 
t%“W 

per de. 
pend- 

ent 

M~e~“l&l” 

benefit 

Maximum 
potential 

benefits in 
benefit year 

Minimum 
weekly 
benefit 

state Limitations on weekly 
allowances 

B 

IF 

_- 

3 

- 

Yith- 
out 
(II?- 

jcnd- 
ents 
__ 

$625 

C’ith 
de- 

bend- 
ents 

$625 

240 '312 
624 ' 936 

400 2400 
650 3 858 
575 ('1 

480 
650 

400 
650 
500 

F40 
'!%2 

'5M 
780 

I620 

__ 

! 
c 

I 

- 

lesil 
ene 
fit 

iasi 
‘ene 
fit 

Total allo~~anccs not 
more than 60 percent 
of weekly benest 

6 
4 

3 
8 

4 o-4 

1 
SO-4 

; 
60-3 

Arizona _._...._.... 
Connecticut.. __--. 

amount. 
$3 ~~.~~.----~-.--~....~-. 
$8.-...~----~----~....~-. 
Augmented benefit not 

more than average 
weekly wase.’ 

Schedule $l-S8.m .._.. ~. 
$12 but augmented bene- 

fit not more than 6 
percent of high-quar- 
ter wages. 

Schedule $2-S. . ~_.. 
$5~~...----~.-.~..-...-.. 
$6 but augmented bene- 

fit not more than 8 
percent of high-quar- 
ter wages. 

IXst. of Cal-.---__. 
Maryland---------. 
Massachusetts- _. ._ 

Michigan.. .__.. 
Nevada_-_--.-----. 

North Dakota..--. 
Ohio-~~..~...~~.... 
Wyoming.--_.---_. 

- 
1 Assuming maximum weeks of total unemploy- 

ment; weeks of partial unemployment could increase 
this amount, because full allowance is paid for each 
week of partial unemployment; in Maryland, de- 
pends on base-period wages. See footnote 3. 

2 Same maximum weekly benefit amount with or 
without dependents’ allowance. 

3 Dependents’ allowances included within the 
duration formula. Claimant with maximum week- 
ly benefit and maximum allowance may receive full 
26 weeks of benefits if he has base-period wages of 
$3,432. Weeks reduced for other claimants with 
dependents’ sllowa”~es. 

4 Average weekly wage flgured as $66 of 2 highest 
quarters’ wages or $13 of high quarter if no wages in 
second quarter. Minimum allowance figured as 

ferent benefits allowed from State to 
State for the same amounts of base- 
period and high-quarter wages in 
terms of five hypothetical claimants. 
These hypothetical claimants have 
high-quarter wages progressing from 
$200 to $850. Their base-period wages 
range from twice the high-quarter 
wages of the claimant with lowest 
assumed wages ($400) to maximum 
taxable wages ($3,000) that are equal 
to more than 3% times the high- 
quarter wages of the claimant with 
highest hypothetical high-quarter 
wage. In the States with annual- 
wage formulas, the base-period wages 
alone determine both weekly benefit 
amounts and maximum potential 
duration of benefits. 

In a few States, it was necessary to 
make certain assumptions concerning 
the distribution of wages in the quar- 
ters of the base period in order to 
compute benefits payable. By the 
terms of the hypothetical wages, all 

20 

$50 of 2 quarters’ wages of $37.50 (J/a of qualifying 
wage) up to 2 quarters of $119.99 (maximum high- 
quarter wages for minimum weekly benefit amount). 
Maximum allowance figured as Via of $480 (minimum 
high-quarter and qualifying wages for maximum 
weekly benefit amount) and of $3,000 (maximum 
taxable wagcs). Maximum potential benefits in 
bene6t year include dependents’ allowanc@s for each 
week of benefits; highest amount paid thus far is at 
rate of $51 per week or $1,173 per benefit year. 

6 Dependents’ allowance considered part of weekly 
benefit amount. Partially unemployed claimant 
gets $5 weekly bene6t amount, and therefore, only 
IA dependents’ allowance. 

6 Depending on high-quarter wages of claimant 
qualifying for minimum weekly benefit. 

claimants have wages in at least 2 
quarters, as required in 10 States. It 
is assumed that they all have wages 
in 3 quarters, as required in Missouri. 
Although Missouri has an g-quarter 
base period, it is assumed that these 
claimants’ wages were earned in the 
last 4 quarters, and their benefits have 
been computed on these wage credits 
alone; had these wages been dupli- 
cated in the prior year, all these 
claimants would have had maximum 
potential benefits in the benefit year 
instead of the weeks reported in 
table 9. 

In Michigan and Wisconsin the 
weekly benefit amount depends on 
the average weekly wages, and dura- 
tion of benefits depends on the 
number of weeks worked. For the 
purposes of table 9, it was assumed 
that the high quarter represents 13 
weeks of work, and that all the base- 
period wages were earned at the same 
rate. Had other assumptions been 



Table 9 .-‘Weekly benefit amount for total unemployment and maximum potential benefits in a benefit year forfive 
hypothetical claimants with speciJied high-quarter and base-period wages, by State, December 1, 1949 

* 
state 

Basic benefit 
Alabama _________ -_-_-_-_--. 
Alaska.~~~~~~---~~~~-------. 
Arizona .___________.___ ---_. 
Arkansas . .._______________ -. 
California ___.._______.______ 
Colorado ___..__..___....____ 
Connecticut _____ ____ -_- ____ 
Delaware.-m ._--_--- _______. 
District of Columbia-------. 
Florida .________ -__--_--- ____ 
Georgia----- ____ -_--___- ___. 
Hawaii~~~~~---~--.----~-~--. 
Idaho .___________ -__----_--. 
Illinois I..____.___.__ --_-_--. 
Indiana ~--~---~--- __________ 
IO~a~~~~~-~~~---~---_______. 
Kansas...----~~-.~------~~~~ 
Kentucky J . . ..__.._______ -. 
Louisiana.----_----- ________ 
Maine 3 ________ --_----- ______ 
Maryland..--------~- _______ 
Massnchasetts-------~--~~~.. 
Michigan 1.. ..-------- _____ 
Minnesota ~..-~------- _____. 
Mississippi.---------- ______. 
Missouri j...------- _______.__ 
Montana.-------- _________.. 
Nebraska...--__--~-_______~ 
Nevada.--_----------------. 
New Hampshire 8.---------. 

Oregon3 . . .._ ---__-__~ _.__.. 
Pennsylvania. .__--___- ____. 
Rhode Island..~..... _______ 
South Carolina---_- _____.__. 
South Dakota--_--- ________. 
Tennessee..._____--_-------. 
Texns..------~~---~~~.~..... 
Utah 6 . . ..____ -__-.----_-. 
Vermont...._...__---------. 
Virginia---------~ ___.___.._. 
Washington 3-----__-- ______. 
West Virginia 3__-_-_..---._. 
Wisconsiu 4.. .----- _________ 
Wyoming . . .._ -----------_-_ 
Basic benefit phs maximan 
allozcances for dependents 7 

Alaska @ _____ -_-_----___- ____ 
Arizona--_.- _____ -_-_---_--. 
Connecticut . . ..__.____ -- ___. 
District of Columbia--w----. 
Maryland ~------~--..-- ___... 
Massachusetts 8. .- .__- _____. 
Michigan--_--------- __.___._ 
Nevadan.---------------~~~~ 
North Dakota---~~------~~-. 
Ohio ..__ -----------------___ 
Wyoming @ _-_~~--------____ 

- 
, 

P 
1 
a 

_- 

- 

Maximum poten 
ieekly tial benefits .P 
x?nefit 1 
mount Amount 

Dllra- 
tion & 

(weeks: I 

f;: cl; $;g ;; w 
13+ 

10.00 120.00, u 12 9. 
oil 135.00 

11.00 2m.00 :p”+ 
8.00 133.33 let 

‘8.00 110. M) 1st 
8.00 100. Oil w 
9.00 180.00 “20 

10.00 100.00 10 

Claimant A: High-quar- ( 
ter wages of $200 and 
i;s$period viages of 

14.00 245.00 
12.00 202. oil 16t 
13.00, ZAO. 00 u 20 

16.00, 392.00 16.00 160.00 :F? 
- 

Claimant B: High-quar- 
ter wagqs of $325 and 
;,v,s-penod wages of 

Maximum poten 

L%iT 
tial benefits 

mount Amount 
DUZX- 
tion 

(u-eeks: 

14.00 224.00 U 16 
13.00 260.00 u 20 

15.00 180.00 16.50 275.00 ii+ 
13.00 187.00 14t 
16.25 250.00 15+ 
13.00 250.00 19t 
12.00 264.00 u 22 
17.00 250.00 14t 
10.00 200.00 u 20 

16 00 288.00 u 1s 
15.00 180.00 12 
13.00 260.00 u 20 
13.00 150.00 11t 
21.00 315.00 “15 
14.00 280.00 u 20 

13.00 182. Oil 11.00 176.00 :i 
12.00 276.00 U 23 
14.00 280.00 20 
17.00 187.M) 11 

28.00 250.00 St 
23. 04 276.03 U 12 
19.50 287.50 14t 
18.oQ 360.00 ‘*20 
21.00 188. InI 
25.00 337.00 1::: 
23.00 460.00 **20 
20.00 390.00 1gt 
21.00 420.00 u 20 
21.00 546.00 l *26 
23. Oil 253.00 11 - 

Claimant C: High-quar- 
ter wages of $475 and 
base-period wages of 
$1.300 

Maximum poten 
tiai benefits 

$;f: IllI $3x3;. ;;’ **20 
18-1 

**20.00 **240.00 U 12 
19. on 304.00 “16 
22.001 572.00 “26 
19.00 3x0. on **20 
18.00 330.00 181 
19.00 325. Of, 

**20.00 **400.00 
171 

**20 
**15.00 **240.00 **16 
**:X3: ;I **288.00 U 16 

19.00’ 380.00 304.00 u 20 

24. on 440. oil ::t 
19.00 325.00 

**22.50 433.33 :,‘j 
19. on 380.00 **20 
17. 00 374.00 u 22 
24.00 434.00 W 
16.00 320.00 U 20 
18.00 325.00 
24.00 390.00 
22.00 440.00 **20 

19.00 361.00 19.00 304.00 u :i 
19.00 325.00 17i 

**20.00 **360.00 Ul; 
**20.00 “400.00 

19.00 434.00 w 
18.00 414.00 U 23 

8’22.00 434.00 194 
19.00 380.00 **20 
21.00 546.00 U 26 
16.00 320.00 U 20 

**20.00 “400.00 u 20 
21.00 540.00 ‘*26 

**22.00 434.00 194 
19.00 320.00 lOi 
19.00 36O.M) 20 
24.00 364.00 15-i 

**20.00 ‘“3GO.00 U 18 
**20.00 300.w 

19.00 380.00 u iii 
19.00 260.00 131 

‘*25.00 400.00 19.00 380.00 u a: 
19.00 304.00 **16 
17.00 3i4.00 
17.00 391.00 u ;z 
19.00 456.00 24 
24.00 336.00 14 

_ 

- 
*Indicates minimum weekly benefit amount, minimum potential annual 

benefits, or minimum weeks of benefits for total unemployment. 
** Indicates maximum weekly benefit amount, maximum potential annual 

benefits, or maximum weeks of benefits, other than uniform duration. 
U Indicates uniform duration for all eligible claimants. 
I&. Indicates ineligibility on basis of qualifying wages. 
1 Effective uniform benefit year beginning Apr. 1, 1950. 
2 Assuming $150 wage credits in last 2 quarters of base period; otherwise, claim- 

ants would be ineligible. 
3 Annual-wage formula; high-quarter aages not used in computing weekly 

bencEt amount. 
4 Average weekly-wage formula; benefits are Egured on further assumption 

that the high quarter represents 13 weeks of employment and all base-period 
employment was at the same average wage. 

5 Base period of 8 quarters. If in preceding 4 quarters wages were equal to 
wages assumed for 4 quarters, maximum potential benefits in a benefit year 
would be increased to maximum weeks specified in law. 

Claimant D: Hiph-quar- 
ter magts of $650 and 
;2=o;;erlod wages of 

Maximum poten 
Yeekly tial benefits 
xnefit 
bmount Amount 

DlXa- 
tion 

(weeks 
--__ 

“24.00 510.00 
“25 00 

21-i 
500.00 20 

“20. ccl **400.00 **20 
**15.00 **240.00 **16 
**lS.oO **28X.00 U 16 
**25.w **500.00 y*; 
**20. on **400.06 
**25.00 **650.00 **26 
**m. 00 **4oo.w **20 
**22.50 **450.00 **20 
**25.00 **500.00 “20 
**m.w **440.00 y,;; 
**25.w **500.00 

20.00 400.00 u 20 
“25.00 500.00 20 
**25.00 **575. on **23 
“24.00 “480.00 **20 

22.00 462.00 21 
**20.00 **320.00 Ul; 
**20.00 **400.00 
“20.00 **360.00 Ul; 
“20.00 **400.00 
“25.00 **G50.00 ‘*2G 
**25.00 “575.00 u 23 
**22.00 **5i2.00 **26 
**20.00 **400.00 **20 
“26.00 **G76.00 U 26 

21.00 420.00 U 20 
**20.00 **400.00 u 20 
**25.(K)/ **&%I 00 “26 
**22.00 **;‘j 

22. no 
**25.00 
**25. no 
**20. on’ **360.00 u 18 
**20.00 **400.00 l *20 
“20.00 **400.00 u 20 
**20. on 400.00 
“25.00 4i5.00 Ti 
**25.00 **500.00 u 20 
**20.00 **320.00 **lG 

24.00 624.00 **26 
21. no 483.00 U 23 
25.00 R62.50 “269 

**25.00 **500.00 **20 

**40.00 **625.00 15+ 
**26.00 **312.00 U 12 
**36.00 774.00 
“20.00 **400.00 

w 
**20 

**33.00 500.00 154 
50.00 1,150.oo **23 

**32.00 **640.00 **20 
**37.00 **962.00 **26 
“26.00, **520.00 U 20 
**30.001 **780.00 **26 
“31.00; **620.00 **20 

Claimant E: Hiph-quar- 
ter wages of $850 and 
;~o;;pcr~od wages of 

*$m. 00’**$400.00 **20 
**25.00, **625.00 *‘25 

**22.00/ **352.00 
**20. Ml “240.00 Ul; 

**25.00’ **650.00 
*TL 751 

“26 
**455.00 **20 

**24.OOj “624.00 *‘26 
**25.00 **tm 00 **26 
**20.00, *+4nO 00 **20 
**15.00/ **240.00 **lF 

0 Reneflts are Equred on present cost-of-living adjustment above normal scale 
of $5-20; weeks of duration are correspondingly reduced below the normal maxi- 
mum of 25 weeks. 

7 Represents benefits with allowance for maximum compensable dependents 
at each level. 

8 In Alaska and Maryland, maximum weeks of benefits for each claimant are 
reduced by payment of dependents’ allowances. In Massachusetts, where aug 
mented benefits are limited to average weekly wage in 2 highest qunrters of base 
period, it is assumed that high-quarter wages prevail in next higher quarter also; 
result gives allowance for 3 dependents for claimant A, 4 dependents for claimant 
B,7 dependents for claimant C, 13 dependents for ciaimamt D, but for A, C, and 
D only half allowance for the last dependent; same assumption would give claim- 
ant E an allowance for 21 dependent children under age 16, but assumption is 
made that he has only 13 such dependents. In Wyommg, dependents al- 
lowances effective with benefit years beginning on or after Jan. I, 1950. 
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ante would vary from $3 to $8, de- 
pending on the State’s formula: his 
basic benefits of $8 to $11 would be 
increased to $12 in three States, $13 
in oqe, $14 in one, and $16 in six. 

If A remained unemployed and eli- 
gible, he could draw benefits for from 
6f weeks in Oregon to 26 weeks in 
New York. In 20 States he would be 
entitled to 10 but less than 15 weeks; 
in 16 States, to 15 but less than 20 
weeks; in 12, to 20 but less than 25 
weeks. Among the States in which 
duration is computed on the basis of 
the individual’s wages, he would be 
eligible for the statutory minimum 
duration of 15 weeks in Utah, and for 
the maximum potential duration of 
20 weeks in the District of Columbia 
and New Mexico. In Alaska and 
Maryland he would have his poten- 
tial weeks of benefits reduced if he 
drew dependents’ allowances. 

The most that a claimant like A 
could draw in a benefit year would 
vary from $80 in Texas to $267 in Ohio. 
In Virginia such benefits would be $96; 
in 29 States, $100 but less than $150; 
in 13 States, $150 but less than $200; 
in five States, $200 but less than $250; 
in New York, $260. In Alaska and 
Maryland, A’s maximum p0tentia.l 
beneflts would be the same whether he 
had any dependents or not. In the 
other nine States with such allow- 
ances, his basic benefits of $100 to $267 
would be increased to a range of $160 
to $392. 

Claimant B has high-quarter wages 
of $325 (an average of $25 per week) 
and base-period wages of $750, pro- 
portionately more outside the high 
quarter than A. Such a claimant 
would be an insured worker in all 
States. His basic weekly benefit 
amount would vary from $10 in Maine 
to $21 in Utah with its cost-of-living 
allowance. In the largest number of 
States (15), it would be $13, and in the 
median State, $14. 

B’s maximum weeks of benefits 
would vary from 11 in Wyoming to 26 
in New York. In 18 States his maxi- 
mum duration would be less than 15 
weeks; in 17 States, more than 20 
weeks: in the median State, 18 weeks. 
In the States with individual duration, 
B would have the statutory minimum 
duration (15 weeks) in Utah and the 
maximum duration in Alabama, Ar- 

kansas, the District of Columbia, 
Michigan, New Mexico, and Ohio. 

B’s maximum potential beneflts in 
a beneflt year vary from $150 in Texas 
to $416 in Ohio. In 23 States the 
maximum would be less than $250; in 
seven States, more than $300; in the 
median State, $250. 

Dependents’ allowances may in- 
crease B’s weekly benefit ($13 to $17) 
by $3 to $11, so that his augmented 
weekly benefit would be $18 to $28. 
They may increase his maximum po- 
tential benefits from a range of $187 
to $416 to a range of $253 to $546 in 
the nine States where potential bene- 
fits are increased by dependents’ 
allowances. 

The middle claimant.-Claimant C 
has high-quarter wages of $475 (an 
average of $36 a week if it was a 
quarter of full employment) and base- 
period wages of $1,300. For the coun- 
try as a whole, his high-quarter wages 
are below the average. His weekly 
beneAt would vary from $15 in Flor- 
ida to $25 in Utah. In the largest 
number of States (19) he would be 
eligible for $19; in 11 States, for less 
than $19, and in 21 States, for $20 
to $25. In 13 States he would be eli- 
gible for the State’s maximum weekly 
benefit of $15 to $25. 

C’s maximum weeks of benefits in 
a benefit year would vary from 12 in 
Arizona to 26 in New York. Only in 
23 States would he be entitled to bene- 
fits for 20 weeks or more. In 12 
States with individual duration his 
maximum duration would be the 
State’s maximum of 16 to 26 weeks. 

C’s maximum potential basic bene- 
fits would vary from $240 in Arizona 
and Florida to $572 in California. In 
18 States his maximum potential 
benefits would be less than $350; in 
16 States, $350 but less than $400; in 
17 States, $400 or more. In eight 
States where he would be eligible for 
the State’s maximum weekly benefit 
amount and maximum weeks of bene- 
fits, his benefits would vary from $240 
to $400. However, in 13 States where 
he would not be entitled to the State’s 
maximum potential benefits, he would 
be entitled to more than $400. 

With maximum compensable de- 
pendents, Claimant C’s weekly bene- 
fit would be increased by $5 to $15 in 
10 States; in the District of Columbia 
he would get the same maximum ($20) 

with or without dependents. In the 
10 States his basic benefits would 
range from $18 to $24; his augmented 
benefits, from $26 to $39. His maxi- 
mum potential benefits in a benefit 
year would not be increased, and his 
potential weeks of benefits would be 
decreased in Alaska and Maryland. 
In the other eight States his maxi- 
mum potential benefits would be in- 
creased from a range of $240 to $546 
in basic benefits to a range of $312 
to $676 in augmented benefits. 

Two high-wage claimants.-Claim- 
ant D is a comparatively high-wage 
claimant; only a third of the covered 
workers had higher wages in their 
high quarter in 1948. His high-quar- 
ter wages are $650, or $50 a week; his 
base-period wages of $2,000 represent 
more than 3 quarters of full-time 
work. He would be entitled to basic 
weekly beneflts varying from $15 in 
Florida to $26 in New York; in the 
median State to $22. In 44 States he 
would get the State maximum; in 
most of these States with a high- 
quarter formula, the State. maximum 
reduces his beneflt amount as com- 
puted. In six States with annual- 
wage formulas and maximum weekly 
benefits of $25, D’s annual earnings 
of $2,000 would entitle him to only 
$20, $21, or $22. In Wisconsin, with 
the assumptions stated on page 20, D’s 
average weekly wage of $50 a week 
would give him weekly benefits of $25, 
$1 less than the State maximum. 

Because of the variety of State 
formulas, Claimant D would be en- 
titled to weeks of benefits for total 
unemployment, varying from 12 in 
Arizona to 26% in Wisconsin; in the 
median State, he would be entitled 
to 20 weeks. In nine States his maxi- 
mum duration would be less than 20 
weeks; in eight States more than 25. 

In 42 States, Claimant D would be 
entitled to maximum weeks of bene- 
fits. In six States with variable dura- 
tion and maximum duration of 25 
or 26 weeks, his base-period wages 
would entitle him to only 20, 21, or 22 
weeks; in Pennsylvania with a maxi- 
mum of 24 weeks, Claimant D could 
qualify for onIy 23 weeks, and in Utah 
with a maximum of 20, for only 19 
weeks. 

The maximum potential beneflts to 
which Claimant D would be entitled 
would vary from $240 in Arizona and 
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Florida to $676 in New York. In eight 
States, these benefits would be less 
than $400; in 22 States, $500 or more; 
md in eight of these 22 States, $600 
or more; in the median State, $480. 
In 37 States, Claimant D’s maximum 
potential basic benefits would be at 
the State’s maximum, with benefits 
ranging from $240 to $676. In the 
other 14 States he would miss the 
maximum potential benefits by $25 to 
$163. In these States, with maximum 
potential benefits ranging from $500 
to $689, D’s maximum potential bene- 
fits would range from $400 to $662.50. 

With maximum compensable de- 
pendents, Claimant D’s high-quarter 
wages would entitle him to the maxi- 
mum augmented benefits ($26 to $401 
in nine States that provide such al- 
lowances. In Massachusetts, if his 
high-quarter wages were duplicated in 
a second quarter and if he had more 
than 12 dependent children under 
age 18, he would be entitled to aug- 
mented beneflts of $50 per week. In 
eight States his maximum potential 
benefits would be increased from a 
range of $240 to $650 to a range of 
$312 to $1,150; in Maryland and 
Alaska, with maximum weekly de- 
pendents’ allowances, his weeks of 
benefits would be reduced to 15+. 

E is a high-wage claimant with the 
maximum taxable base-period wages 
($3,000) and high-quarter wages of 
$850. He is entitled to maximum basic 
weekly benefit, maximum statutory 
weeks of benefits, and maximum po- 
tential benefits in the benefit year in 
all States. Hence the basic benefit 
entries for E are comparable to the 
maximum amounts indicated in tables 
1 and 4. 

With maximum compensable de- 
pendents, in 10 States E’s basic weekly 
beneflt of $20 to $25 is increased by 
$5 to $15 or more to a range of $26 to 

$40, and in nine States his potential 
benefits would be increased from $240 
to $650 to a range of $312 to $1,173. 
The $51 per week and $1,173 per year 
to which he would be entitled in Mas- 
sachusetts if he had 13 dependent 
children under age 18 are not the 
maximum payable under the law but 
the maximum paid thus far; if the 
number of his dependents was larger, 
his dependents’ allowances would be 
larger. In Alaska, dependents’ allow- 
ances would decrease Claimant E’s 
maximum potential weeks of benefits 
by increasing his weekly benefit 
amount without increasing his maxi- 
mum potential beneflts. In Mary- 
land, Claimant El, with dependents, 
could receive only $75 more than if he 
had no dependents, since his maxi- 
mum potential augmented benefits are 
limited to ‘/4 of his base-period wages. 
Receipt of maximum weekly depend- 
ents’ allowances would reduce his 
weeks of benefits from 26 to 22+. 

E$ect of Diversity 
It should be clear that the trend in 

State laws is not toward uniformity 
but toward greater and greater di- 
versity. Under the present State laws 
the maximum potential beneflts for 
the lowest-wage claimant who quali- 
fies for benefits are greater in New 
York ($260) than the maximum basic 
benefits payable to any claimant in 
Arizona or Florida. Table 9 shows in- 
stance after instance where a claimant 
with the same wage credits may get 
more than twice as high basic weekly 
benefits, more than three times as 
much potential annual benefits, and 
more than four times as many weeks 
of benefits in the high State as in the 
low State. Furthermore, the “high’ 
and “low” States cited above show 
that some State formulas give high 
benefits in one respect and low in an- 

other, or high at one level and low at 
another. 

In the field of disqualification, di- 
versities are as great. A claimant dis- 
qualified for voluntary leaving in 
Arizona may have his benefits post- 
poned for 4 weeks; in Colorado a 
claimant similarly situated may have 
a disqualification flve times as long 
and in Texas six times as long and in 
addition have all his wage credits for 
a year wiped out. 

Nor are the seeming inequities 
limited to claimants. An employer 
whose reserve is 7 percent of his an- 
nual or average annual pay roll is 
entitled to a contribution rate of 2.7 
in three States (Kentucky, North 
Carolina, and South Dakota) and to a 
rate of less than 1 percent in seven 
States.” If his reserve increases to 
10 percent of his pay roll he will be 
entitled to a contribution rate of 1.9 
percent in Idaho and to a zero rate in 
four States (Colorado, Hawaii, South 
Dakota, and Wisconsin). 

This variety among all the provi- 
sions of State laws-coverage, bene- 
fits, disqualification, experience rating, 
tax rates-and the resultant com- 
plexities of interpretation and ad- 
ministration are one cause of mis- 
understanding and criticism of the 
program. For employers with multi- 
State operations-and tax and report- 
ing responsibility-the divergent State 
systems and the seeming interstate 
competition are confusing. For inter- 
state workers who must file claims for 
benefits in one State for determina- 
tion under the law of another State 
or who must appeal their benefit 
rights in a distant State, the system 
inevitably leads to delays and mis- 
understanding. 

lBThe District of Columbia, 0.1; Ne- 
braska, 0.5; Kansas, 0.85; Colorado, New 
Jersey, Ohio, and South Dakota, 0.9 per- 
cent. 
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