I-1-0-2.Organization of HALLEX

Last Update: 3/3/11 (Transmittal I-1-61)

A. Volumes and Divisions or Parts

The Hearings, Appeals and Litigation Law (HALLEX) manual consists of two volumes.

1. Volume I

Volume I has five divisions:

  • Division 1 - General Subjects

  • Division 2 - Administrative Law Judge Hearings

  • Division 3 - Appeals Council Review

  • Division 4 - Civil Actions

  • Division 5 - Temporary Instructions (TI) - This division contains instructions that: apply only for a limited time; address special situations; or communicate information that we will later incorporate into Divisions 1 through 4. When appropriate, a TI carries an expiration date to indicate when the instruction will no longer be effective. We divide the TIs topically into the following chapters:

  • 5-0 - Introduction to the Temporary Instructions

  • 5-1 - General Subjects

  • 5-2 - Retirement and Survivors Insurance and Supplemental Security Income (RSI/SSI) Matters

  • 5-3 - Disability Matters

  • 5-4 - Court Cases

  • 5-5 - Medicare Matters

2. Volume II

Volume II houses desk reference guides in numbered parts. Parts 1, 2, and 3 were left undesignated. We have removed them from the numbering system. Part 6 - Appeals Text Guide contains information that is now obsolete. Standardized notice language and instructions for preparing notices are now located in the Document Generation System (DGS). Therefore, Part 6 is deleted from HALLEX, without replacement. The remaining parts are:

  • Part 4 - Preambles to Selected Regulations — This part contains preambles to selected regulations having significant impact on the Office of Disability Adjudication and Review. Because preamble information contained in final regulations published in the Federal Register, beginning with Volume 59 (1994), is available through the Internet from the Government Printing Office website ( http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=FR/), we will not issue further transmittals for Volume II, Part 4.

  • Part 5 - Appeals Council Interpretations (ACI) — ACIs are designed to surface and resolve issues arising from gaps in policy or unclear statements of policy, promote greater consistency and uniformity in applying policy throughout the adjudicatory process, and establish precedents at the hearings and appeals levels of adjudication.

B. Numbering Within a Division of Volume I

1. Divisions 1 Through 4

Following “I-”, a 3, 4, or 5-digit number, separated by hyphens, precedes each manual section in the first four divisions in Volume I.

Following I:

  • The first digit identifies the division.

  • The second digit identifies the chapter.

  • The remaining digits identify the section number within the chapter.


  • I-1-2-7 is Volume I, Division 1, Chapter 2, Section 7.

  • I-2-3-25 is Volume I, Division 2, Chapter 3, Section 25.

2. Division 5

We use a similar numbering system for the TIs in Division 5. We number TIs sequentially within the chapter.


  • I-5-4-62 is Volume I, Division 5 (TIs), Chapter 4 (Court Cases), Number 62.

  • I-5-1-22 is Volume I, Division 5 (TIs), Chapter 1 (General Subjects), Number 22.

C. Numbering Within a Part of Volume II

Following “II-”, a 3, 4, or 5 digit-number, separated by a hyphen, precedes each manual section in the parts of Volume II.

Following II:

  • The first digit identifies the part.

  • The second digit identifies the chapter.

  • The remaining digits identify the section number within the chapter.


  • II-5-1-6 is Volume II, Part 5 (Appeals Council Interpretations), Chapter 1, Section 6.