Sec419[42 U.S.C. 619]  As used in this part:

(1) Adult.—The term “adult” means an individual who is not a minor child.

(2) Minor child.—The term “minor child” means an individual who—

(A) has not attained 18 years of age; or

(B) has not attained 19 years of age and is a full-time student in a secondary school (or in the equivalent level of vocational or technical training).

(3) Fiscal year.—The term “fiscal year” means any 12-month period ending on September 30 of a calendar year.

(4) Indian, indian tribe, and tribal organization.—

(A) In general.—Except as provided in subparagraph (B), the terms “Indian”, “Indian tribe”, and “tribal organization” have the meaning given such terms by section 4 of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (25 U.S.C. 450b)[76].

(B) Special rule for indian tribes in alaska.—The term “Indian tribe” means, with respect to the State of Alaska, only the Metlakatla Indian Community of the Annette Islands Reserve and the following Alaska Native regional nonprofit corporations:

(i) Arctic Slope Native Association.

(ii) Kawerak, Inc.

(iii) Maniilaq Association.

(iv) Association of Village Council Presidents.

(v) Tanana Chiefs Conference.

(vi) Cook Inlet Tribal Council.

(vii) Bristol Bay Native Association.

(viii) Aleutian and Pribilof Island Association.

(ix) Chugachmuit.

(x) Tlingit Haida Central Council.

(xi) Kodiak Area Native Association.

(xii) Cooper River Native Association.

(5) State.—Except as otherwise specifically provided, the term “State” means the 50 States of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, Guam, and American Samoa.

[76]  See Vol. II, P.L. 94-437, §4.