Your Payments While You Are Outside The United States

Country List 1

If you are a U.S. citizen, you may receive your Social Security payments outside the U.S. as long as you are eligible for them.

However, there are certain countries to which we are not allowed to send payments.

If you are a citizen of one of the countries listed below, your Social Security payments will keep coming no matter how long you stay outside the U.S., as long as you are eligible for the payments.

Austria Hungary Portugal
Belgium Ireland Slovak Republic
Brazil Israel Slovenia
Canada Italy Spain
Chile Japan Sweden
Czech Republic Korea (South) Switzerland
Finland Luxembourg United Kingdom
France Netherlands Uruguay
Germany Norway  
Greece Poland