You are here: Social Security Administration > Research, Statistics & Policy Analysis > Research & Analysis Archives > Social Security Programs in the United States

Social Security Programs in the United States

(released July 1997)

Basically, all 10 programs inaugurated under the Social Security Act have a common aim in safeguarding the opportunity of American families to participate in the economic life of their times. This opportunity is furthered by the services to give children a chance for a fair start in life, to prevent sickness and the dependency resulting from sickness, and to help handicapped workers to regain a place in productive activity.

Arthur J. Altmeyer, Social Security Commissioner, 1937–53

Table of ContentsAvailable formats

  • Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI)
  • Unemployment Insurance
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Temporary Disability Insurance
  • Medicare
  • Medicaid
  • Veterans' Benefits
  • Government Employee Retirement Systems
  • Railroad Retirement
  • Supplemental Security Income
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
  • Food and Nutrition Assistance
  • Housing Assistance
  • Low-Income Home Energy Assistance
  • General Assistance
  • Earned Income Tax Credit