This is an archival or historical document and may not reflect current policies or procedures.


On June 25, 2011, Social Security changed the SSN assignment process. The information below explains how we established and issued SSNs prior to the new SSN assignment process. We continue to provide it strictly for historical and informational purposes. Please see SSN Randomization for more information on Social Security's new assignment process and how it may affect you.

Area Group Serial (AAA-GG-SSSS)

The Social Security number consists of nine (9) digits. The first three (3) digits denote the area (or State) where the application for an original Social Security number was filed.

Within each area, the group number (middle two (2) digits) range from 01 to 99 but are not assigned in consecutive order. For administrative reasons, group numbers issued first consist of the ODD numbers from 01 through 09 and then EVEN numbers from 10 through 98, within each area number allocated to a State. After all numbers in group 98 of a particular area have been issued, the EVEN Groups 02 through 08 are used, followed by ODD Groups 11 through 99.

This chart below shows how Group numbers are assigned:

Primary Secondary
First 01, 03, 05, 07, 09 Even numbers from 10 to 98
Second 02, 04, 06, 08 Odd numbers from 11 to 99

Within each group, the serial numbers (last four (4) digits) run consecutively from 0001 through 9999.


See the latest High Group List for the latest SSN area ranges issued to date. Alleged Social Security numbers containing area numbers other than those found on that table are impossible.