The Social Security Administration (SSA) is headed by a Commissioner and has a staff of almost 60,000 employees. SSA's central office is located in Baltimore, Maryland. The field organization, which is decentralized to provide services at the local level, includes 10 regional offices, 6 processing centers, and approximately 1,230 field offices. There are 2 additional processing centers in central office.

You may click on any of the office links to learn how these are organized and who is responsible for directing them. Please note that an asterisk (*) indicates the incumbent is serving in an acting capacity.

Each Office site also includes a link to its functional responsibilities published in the Organization Manual.