State Agreements

Electronic Data Exchanges with the States

SSA provides electronic data to the states for use in determining entitlement and eligibility for federally funded benefit programs – such as Medicare and Medicaid, subsidized housing, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Temporary Assistance to Needy Families – as well as other federally funded, state administered benefit programs.  To receive SSA data to administer federally funded, state-administered benefit programs, the state or state agency must sign a Computer Matching Agreement (CMA) and an Information Exchange Agreement (IEA/F).  SSA also discloses data to the states for their use in administering state-funded, state administered benefit programs.  To receive SSA data to administer state-funded, state administered benefit programs, the state or state agency must sign a Reimbursable Information Exchange Agreement (R-IEA).

If a state agency with an approved and signed IEA cannot receive SSA data directly, that state agency will utilize a State Transmission/Transfer Component (STC) through which they will receive the requested data.  Usage of an STC requires an STC Agreement which documents the data flow, as well as outlines the terms, conditions, and safeguards of transferring SSA data to another state agency(s).

SSA also provides data/verification services to state agencies for the purposes of administering voter’s registrations, as well as, driver’s license and identification card programs.  We also receive information from states that enables us to efficiently and effectively establish and verify eligibility and benefit payment amounts under certain SSA administered programs.

Regional Data Exchange Coordinators

As part of SSA's mission to streamline data exchange activities for state agencies, the Data Exchange Coordinators (DECs) should be contacted when initiating new state Data Exchange (DX) requests as well as applicable questions relating to existing state DX agreements. The DECs listed below can be contacted via email or by telephone.

Region

State

Coordinator

Telephone Number

Fax Number

Email Address

Boston

CT, ME, MA, NH, RI & VT

Susan Fay
Shannon Keady

617-565-2855

617-565-9359

Susan.Fay@ssa.gov
Shannon.Keady@ssa.gov
||BOS CPS RSI SSI

New York

NY, NJ, PR & US VI

Andrew Young
Shueh Fan
Abigail Richardson

212-264-1117
212-264-1291
212-264-7152

212-264-2071
212-264-2071

Andrew.Young@ssa.gov
Shueh.Fan@ssa.gov
Abigail.Richardson@ssa.gov

Philadelphia

DE, MD, PA, VA, WVA & DC

Prasanna Kartha

215-597-1962

215-597-5206

Prasanna.Kartha@ssa.gov
||PHI MOS CTR Prog Systs

Atlanta

AL

Frances Eggler 866-593-0914   Frances.Eggler@ssa.gov

 

FL

Angela Beckham

866-248-2395 x19132  

 

Angela.Beckham@ssa.gov

 

GA

Alicia Lipscomb

866-704-3482

Alicia.Lipscomb@ssa.gov

 

KY

Brenda Egleston

866-964-1724

Brenda.Egleston@ssa.gov

 

MS

Marcia Thornton

888-436-2621

Marcia.Thornton@ssa.gov

 

NC

Mathias Bishop

877-803-6311

Mathias.Bishop@ssa.gov

 

SC

Tony Williams

866-275-8271

tony.williams@ssa.gov

 

TN

Dan Phillips

877-808-5461

Dan.Phillips@ssa.gov

Chicago

IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, & WI

Edward Swierczek
Latrice Ivy

312-575-4248
312-575-5982

312-575-4248
312-575-4693

Edward.A.Swierczek@ssa.gov
Latrice.Ivy@ssa.gov

Dallas

AR, LA, OK, NM & TX

Israel Carrillo
Tamara Hurd

214-767-4638
214-767-3611

214-767-1348

Israel.Carrillo@ssa.gov
Tamara.Hurd@ssa.gov

Kansas City

IA, KS, MO & NE

Kelly Lynd

816-936-5650

833-914-1964
833-914-1964

Kelly.Lynd@ssa.gov
||KC CPS

Denver

CO, MT, ND, SD, UT & WY

Heather Scott-Encalade

303-844-4049

303-844-4280

Heather.Scott-Encalade@ssa.gov
||DEN CPS

San Francisco

AZ, CA, NV, HI, Guam, American Samoa & Saipan

Elsa L. Guerrero
Joanna Garcia

510-970-8315
510-970-8212

510-970-8101

Elsa.L.Guerrero@ssa.gov
Joanna.Garcia@ssa.gov
^SF CA RO REGION IX DATA EXCHANGE
||SF MOS Programs Support Center

Seattle

AK, ID, OR & WA

Michael Webb
Christine Vu

206-615-2177
206-374-7395

206-215-2643
206-615-2177

Michael.Webb@ssa.gov
Christine.Vu@ssa.gov