Electronic Data Exchanges with the States

SSA provides electronic data to the states for use in determining entitlement and eligibility for federally funded benefit programs – such as Medicare and Medicaid, subsidized housing, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Temporary Assistance to Needy Families – as well as other federally funded, state administered benefit programs.  To receive SSA data to administer federally funded, state-administered benefit programs, the state or state agency must sign a Computer Matching Agreement (CMA) and an Information Exchange Agreement (IEA/F).  SSA also discloses data to the states for their use in administering state-funded, state administered benefit programs.  To receive SSA data to administer state-funded, state administered benefit programs, the state or state agency must sign a Reimbursable Information Exchange Agreement (R-IEA).

If a state agency with an approved and signed IEA cannot receive SSA data directly, that state agency will utilize a State Transmission/Transfer Component (STC) through which they will receive the requested data.  Usage of an STC requires an STC Agreement which documents the data flow, as well as outlines the terms, conditions, and safeguards of transferring SSA data to another state agency(s).

SSA also provides data/verification services to state agencies for the purposes of administering voter’s registrations, as well as, driver’s license and identification card programs.  We also receive information from states that enables us to efficiently and effectively establish and verify eligibility and benefit payment amounts under certain SSA administered programs.

Data at Your Fingertips: Data Exchange Agreements

A two-part webinar on Data Exchange Agreements for Federal, State, Tribal, and Local Government partners.

  • Part 1 – “Data at Your Fingertips: An Introduction to SSA Data Exchange Agreements”, explains how to establish a data exchange agreement with the Social Security Administration.
  • Part 2 – “Data at Your Fingertips: SSA Data Exchange, Understanding the Data for Current Users”, explains how data exchange agreements work and how to obtain the data you need.
View Data Exchange Agreements webinar

Regional Data Exchange Coordinators

As part of SSA's mission to streamline data exchange activities for state agencies, the Data Exchange Coordinators (DECs) should be contacted when initiating new state Data Exchange (DX) requests as well as applicable questions relating to existing state DX agreements. The DECs listed below can be contacted via email or by telephone.

Region

State

Coordinator

Telephone Number

Fax Number

Email Address

Boston

CT, ME, MA, NH, RI & VT

Susan Fay
Shannon Keady

617-565-2882
617-565-2855

617-565-9359
617-565-9359

Susan.Fay@ssa.gov
Shannon.Keady@ssa.gov
||BOS CPS RSI SSI

New York

NY, NJ, PR & US VI

Nadine G. Thompson
Andrew Young

212-264-5643
212-264-1117

212-264-2071
212-264-2071

Nadine.G.Thompson@ssa.gov
Andrew.Young@ssa.gov

Philadelphia

DE, MD, PA, VA, WVA & DC

Prasanna Kartha

215-597-1962

215-597-5206

Prasanna.Kartha@ssa.gov
||PHI MOS CTR Prog Systs

Atlanta

AL

Frances Eggler

866-593-0914

 

Frances.Eggler@ssa.gov

 

FL

Jeff Vincent

877-445-0843 x 11717

425-234-8117

Jeff.Vincent@ssa.gov

 

GA

Alicia Lipscomb

866-704-3482

 

Alicia.Lipscomb@ssa.gov

 

KY

James Stewart

866-964-1724

 

James.E.Stewart@ssa.gov

 

MS

Jan Stearns

866-331-8135

 

Jan.Stearns@ssa.gov

 

NC

Mathias Bishop

877-803-6311

 

Mathias.Bishop@ssa.gov

 

SC

Cornell Jenkins

866-964-7594

 

Cornell.Jenkins@ssa.gov

 

TN

Dan Phillips

877-808-5461

 

Dan.Phillips@ssa.gov

Chicago

IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, & WI

Gail James
Edward Swierczek
Latrice Ivy

312-575-4246
312-575-4248
312-575-5982

312-575-4245
312-575-4248
312-575-4693

Gail.James@ssa.gov
Edward.A.Swierczek@ssa.gov
Latrice.Ivy@ssa.gov

Dallas

AR, LA, OK, NM & TX

Israel Carrillo
Jorge Ortiz

212-767-4638

214-767-1348
214-767-5220

Israel.Carrillo@ssa.gov
Jorge.Ortiz@ssa.gov

Kansas City

IA, KS, MO & NA

Michelle Palmer
Kelly Lynd

816-936-5638
816-936-5650

816-936-5951
816-936-5951

Michelle.Palmer@ssa.gov
Kelly.Lynd@ssa.gov
||KC CPS

Denver

CO, MT, ND, SD, UT & WY

Tracy Tweten
Yvonne Candelaria

303-844-0839
303-844-7026

303-844-3281
303-844-4280

Tracy.Tweten@ssa.gov
Yvonne.Candelaria@ssa.gov
||DEN CPS

San Francisco

AZ, CA, NV, HI, Guam, American Samoa & Saipan

Jill Baker
Bill Zuroff
Nancy Borjon
Joanna Garcia

510-970-8244
510-970-8245
510-970-8256
510-970-8212

510-970-8101
510-970-8101
510-970-8101
510-970-8101

Jill.Baker@ssa.gov
Bill.Zuroff@ssa.gov
Nancy.Borjon@ssa.gov
Joanna.Garcia@ssa.gov
^SF CA RO REGION IX DATA EXCHANGE
||SF MOS Programs Support Center

Seattle

AK, ID, OR & WA

Michael Webb

206-615-2177

206-215-2643

Michael.Webb@ssa.gov